Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Great Treehouse War (Hardcover) (Lisa Graff)

Great Treehouse War (Hardcover) (Lisa Graff) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie’s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses—and her friends decide to join. It’s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever. In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:The Great Treehouse War"It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."—School Library Journal"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."—Booklist"[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."—Publishers Weekly"A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."—Horn BookLost in the Sun* "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review* "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."—School Library Journal, starred review"This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."—Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars"Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."—Richard Peck, A Year Down YonderAbsolutely Almost* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."—Booklist, starred review* "Achingly superb."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review* "
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Friendship
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Lisa Graff
Language: English
Street Date: May 16, 2017
TCIN: 52499383
UPC: 9780525514503
Item Number (DPCI): 248-46-2729
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$9.79
MSRPReg: $13.99 Save $4.20 (30% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.