product description page

Greenpeace Captain : My Adventures in Protecting the Future of Our Planet (Hardcover) (Peter Willcox)

Greenpeace Captain : My Adventures in Protecting the Future of Our Planet (Hardcover) (Peter Willcox) - image 1 of 1

about this item

Peter Willcox would never call himself a hero, but he is recognized around the globe as someone who has devoted his entire life to saving the world.

As the senior Captain for Greenpeace International, he has been at the epicenter of almost every dramatic ecological conflict in the last forty years. His leadership of the "Arctic 30"--the Greenpeace crew captured by Russian commandos and imprisoned for protesting an illegal oil drilling platform in international waters--led to him being featured prominently in countless broadcast networks in every corner of the globe, and ubiquitously on the internet.

In the tradition of Linda Greenlaw's and Sebastian Junger's books, Peter's story is action-packed and full of danger. He has endured secret agents who blew up his ship and murdered his shipmate, braved forest-burning slave owners in the Amazon, exposed international conspiracies involving diamond-smuggling, gun-trading, and Al-Qaeda, risked exposure to nuclear waste and dioxins, and triumphed over a myriad of other seemingly impossible challenges.

This memoir has the total cooperation of the Greenpeace organization, which will also work with sister ecological groups to publicize and promote Captain Willcox. At last, his dramatic story can be told and surely will inspire readers to get off their couches to make a difference in something they care about.

Number of Pages: 32332.0
Genre: Biography + Autobiography, Political Science
Sub-Genre: Public Policy / Environmental Policy
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Author: Peter Willcox
Language: English
Street Date: April 19, 2016
TCIN: 50775351
UPC: 9781250079541
Item Number (DPCI): 248-10-7438

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.