Loading, please wait...

Hard Country - (American West Trilogy) by Michael McGarrity (Paperback)

Hard Country - (American West Trilogy) by  Michael McGarrity (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Hard Country - (American West Trilogy) by  Michael McGarrity (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Not in stores
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 630

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Series Title: American West Trilogy

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Dutton Books

Age Range: Teen

Author: Michael McGarrity

Language: English

Street Date: May 28, 2013
TCIN: 77262658
UPC: 9780451417145
Item Number (DPCI): 247-53-1101

Description

Praise for Hard Country

"A well-rendered neoclassic tale of the Old West, worthy of a place alongside Lonesome Dove and Sea of Grass."--Kirkus Reviews

"Any readers interested in the Western genre will be delighted by McGarrity's take on harsh frontier life, and loyal fans of detective Kevin Kerney will be excited to see this prequel."--Library Journal

"A 'Western' in the sense that Lonesome Dove was a Western. It transcends the genre, a great and true American novel."--New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston

"A compelling and richly imagined epic."--New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel

"An expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie, Jr. and Larry McMurtry. Savor this one--they don't make cowboy epics like this anymore."--National bestselling author Hampton Sides

"Hard Country is aptly titled, and the reader will take a spectacular journey with real people settling the West. There is inescapable action of the gun, the earth, the sky, and the heart."--Max Evans

"McGarrity is an accomplished storyteller, and he writes with clarity, perception, and authenticity."--Pulitzer Prize-winning author N. Scott Momaday

More Praise for Michael McGarrity and His Novels

"[In Matt], McGarrity serves up a tough but tender cowboy."--Kirkus Reviews

"Closing the book after the final page of the saga may invoke emotions of losing a good friend. For the past four years McGarrity fans have been there through the Kerneys' struggles and triumphs, the victories and injustices, and the successes and heartaches. It can be kind of tough saying adios to fellow New Mexicans that have lived and loved, thanks to the life the skilled storyteller McGarrity has breathed into them."--Alamogordo News

"The writing captures the pride of the past and the value of heritage that continues to guide future generations of families bonded to the land and all its creatures."--New Mexico Stockman

"A joy to read."--The Western Writers of America Magazine

"Full of adventure...McGarrity's writing is as clear as the desert air at the Kerneys' 7-Bar-K Ranch, and he has a talent for telling good stories."--The Santa Fe New Mexican Weekly Magazine of Arts, Entertainment & Culture

"McGarrity's well-researched details about life in New Mexico during the Great Depression will appeal to historical-fiction fans, and his details about life on the ranch will appeal to readers of fiction set in the West."--Library Journal

"An epic novel with a grand sweep of the West."--The Denver Post

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.