Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Hello, Universe (Hardcover) (Erin Entrada Kelly)

Hello, Universe (Hardcover) (Erin Entrada Kelly) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Number of Pages: 320
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Friendship
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Erin Entrada Kelly
Language: English
Street Date: March 14, 2017
TCIN: 51551388
UPC: 9780062414151
Item Number (DPCI): 248-23-8418
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.89
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $5.10 (30% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.