product description page

How I Became a North Korean (Hardcover) (Krys Lee)

How I Became a North Korean (Hardcover) (Krys Lee) - image 1 of 1

about this item

A dazzling debut novel for readers of Adam Johnson and Anthony Marra about three young people attempting to make their way through the dangerous region where China borders North Korea Yongju is an accomplished student from one of North Korea's most prominent families. Jangmi, on the other hand, has had to fend for herself since childhood, most recently by smuggling goods across the border. Then there is Danny, a Chinese-American teenager of North Korean descent whose quirks and precocious intelligence have long marked him as an outcast in his California high school.These three disparate lives converge when each of them escapes to the region where China borders North Korea—Danny to visit his mother, who is working as a missionary there, after a humiliating incident keeps him out of school; Yongju to escape persecution after his father is killed at the hands of the Dear Leader himself; and Jangmi to protect her unborn child. As they struggle to survive in a place where danger seems to close in on all sides, in the form of government informants, husbands, thieves, abductors, and even missionaries, they come to form a kind of adoptive family. But will Yongju, Jangmi and Danny find their way to the better lives they risked everything for? Transporting the reader to one of the most little-known and threatening environments in the world, and exploring how humanity persists even in the most desperate circumstances,How I Became a North Korean is a brilliant and essential first novel by one of our most promising writers.
Number of Pages: 246.0
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Literary
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Author: Krys Lee
Language: English
Street Date: August 2, 2016
TCIN: 51156680
UPC: 9780670025688
Item Number (DPCI): 248-16-7309

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.