:

product description page

How to Read Novels Like a Professor : A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

How to Read Novels Like a Professor : A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form - image 1 of 1

About this item

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes'sDon Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book,How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.

Number of Pages: 312
Genre: Literary Criticism
Sub-Genre: General
Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
Author: Thomas C. Foster
Language: English
Street Date: July 1, 2008
TCIN: 11474121
UPC: 9780061340406
Item Number (DPCI): 248-04-2867
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.59
MSRPReg: $15.99 Save $2.40 (15% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.