:

product description page

If This Were a Story - by Beth Turley (Hardcover)

If This Were a Story -  by Beth Turley (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

about this item

In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories in this sweet and sincere debut.

Tenacious. That means strong-willed. My mother calls me that.

I wish I felt the same way.

If this were a story, I would discover I was a direct descendent of a famous soldier who won countless battles and protected hundreds of people. This resilience running through my veins wouldn’t be damaged by the notes; it would fight off bullies and prevent my parents from yelling at each other.

But this is not a story. This is real life. My life as ten-year-old Hannah Geller, who is the only girl in fifth grade to have little red bumps on her face, is unable to let the sad thoughts escape her mind, and leaves heads-up pennies wherever she can to spread good luck.

And who also finds magic in the most unlikely of places.
Number of Pages: 192
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Beth Turley
Language: English
Street Date: August 28, 2018
TCIN: 53526624
UPC: 9781534420618
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1537

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.