Loading, please wait...

If This Were a Story - by Beth Turley (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.1 Inches (H) x 5.5 Inch (W) x 1 Inch (D)

Weight: .65 Pounds

Number of Pages: 249

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Family

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Author: Beth Turley

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: Friendship, Marriage & Divorce, Bullying

Language: English

Street Date: August 28, 2018
TCIN: 53526624
UPC: 9781534420618
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1537
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



In the tradition of "Crenshaw" and "The Thing About Jellyfish, " this sweet and sincere debut follows 10-year-old Hannah as she copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories.



Book Synopsis



"An imaginative debut." --Booklist
"Hannah's growth is organic and well earned." --Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories in this sweet and sincere debut.

Tenacious. That means strong-willed. My mother calls me that.

I wish I felt the same way.

If this were a story, I would discover I was a direct descendent of a famous soldier who won countless battles and protected hundreds of people. This resilience running through my veins wouldn't be damaged by the notes; it would fight off bullies and prevent my parents from yelling at each other.

But this is not a story. This is real life. My life as ten-year-old Hannah Geller, who is the only girl in fifth grade to have little red bumps on her face, is unable to let the sad thoughts escape her mind, and leaves heads-up pennies wherever she can to spread good luck.

And who also finds magic in the most unlikely of places.



Review Quotes



"Hannah's growth is organic and well earned."--Publishers Weekly

"Like Ali Benjamin's The Thing about Jellyfish (2015), Turley's accomplished novel is deeply rooted in the imagination of its protagonist, whose hopes and fears are truthfully voiced. . . .An imaginative debut."--Booklist



About The Author



Beth Turley is a graduate of the MFA in creative and professional writing program at Western Connecticut State University. She lives and writes in southeastern Connecticut, where the leaves changing color feels like magic and the water is never too far away. She is the author of If This Were a Story, The Last Tree Town, and The Flyers. Visit her on Twitter @Beth_Turley.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Tue, May 18 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 7 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.