IMUSA 8" Granite Molcajete with Pestle - image 1 of 4IMUSA 8" Granite Molcajete with Pestle - image 2 of 4IMUSA 8" Granite Molcajete with Pestle - image 3 of 4IMUSA 8" Granite Molcajete with Pestle - image 4 of 4
IMUSA 8" Granite Molcajete with Pestle - image 1 of 4
$26.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Made of Durable Granite
  • 8-Inch Size Mortar & Pestle
  • Beautiful Serving Piece, goes Seamlessly From Kitchen to Table
  • Easily Grinds Spices & Herbs
  • Ideal to Prepare Salsas, Dips, Guacamole, and More

Specifications

Weight: 10.45 Pounds

Piece 1 Dimensions: 8.46 Inches (L) x 3.0 Inches (W)

Piece 2: 3.4 Inches (L) x 2.3 Inches (W) x 3.4 Inches (H) x 2.0 Inches (D)

Capacity (Volume): 2 Cup

Material: Granite

Care & Cleaning: Hand Wash

TCIN: 50860223
UPC: 094046020115
Item Number (DPCI): 070-05-4689
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

This IMUSA 8-Inch Granite Mortar & Pestle is the real deal! A molcajete is the traditional Mexican mortar & pestle tool used by pre-Hispanic cultures, including the Aztecs and Mayans, stretching back several thousand years. The matching hand-held grinding tool is known as a ‘tejolote’ and makes crushing and grinding a cinch. This tool is required for creating a lot of traditional Mexican dishes, including salsa and guacamole. You will never buy store-bought salsa again!
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 9 inches length x 8.76 inches width x 4.69 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 9.68 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Where is this made? Description says USA or imported~ which is it? If imported where from?

submitted by Amy - 4 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your interest in IMUSA. This item is made in China.

    submitted byIMUSA Customer Service - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Molcajetes are made in Mexico NOT China. This is not an authentic product!

    submitted byMari - 4 years ago

Q: Is the bowl 1). made from a solid piece of granite or 2). made from crushed granite and formed into a bowl?

submitted by Harvey - 6 years ago
  • A: Molcajetes are made in Mexico NOT China. This is not authentic!

    submitted byMari - 4 years ago
  • A: Looks like a solid piece that has been chiseled out.

    submitted bySoulSurfer - 5 years ago

Q: Does it come with the lime squeezer?

submitted by Taylor - 3 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your question. The molcajete does not come with the squeezer, but it does include the pestle.

    submitted byIMUSA Customer Service - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this item need to be “cured” or “seasoned”?

submitted by Caroline Bennett - 5 years ago
  • A: I washed mine with a wire brush and water ..took about 4 cloves of garlic and ground it in the molcajete..spreading it inside all over..let it sit a day and rinsed it out..never use soap on it..!!

    submitted byChristin Monreal - 4 years ago

Q: Is this the same model as the IMUSA USA MEXI-2011M 8" ??

submitted by Jason - 5 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your email and contacting IMUSA! The answer is Yes! Regards,

    submitted byIMUSA Customer Service - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
4.5 out of 5 stars with 78 reviews
84% would recommend
26 recommendations
ease of use: 4.63 out of 5
easy to clean: 4.47 out of 5
value: 4.53 out of 5
quality: 4.6 out of 5

Works well.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Egg - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
It is heavy and large, what I expected. Works well.
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Do not follow instruction manual

3 out of 5 stars
Apk909 - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
It’s my first molcajete and it’s a decent one at that. However, the critical review is for the maker. The instruction manual said to clean the molcajete with soap and water and then it’s good to use. I did just that…cleaned it with soap and water and dried it immediately. Upon touching the mortar, I noticed it was still grainy. So I googled it. Turns out, you’re supposed to season a granite mortar by grinding a couple tablespoons of rice grains until it turns into powder. You’re supposed to do this, at most, 3 times. As you’re grinding, you’ll notice the powder turn to gray…that’s the grits from the granite that you want out. And boy was I glad that I did just that cause take a look at my picture…gray rice powder after my first bout. I could have eaten that! So my suggestion, don’t follow the instructions manual and instead rinse and scrub hard the molcajete with water only, dry off immediately, pour in a couple tablespoons of rice grains and start grinding away until it turns into powder. Repeat at least 3 times or until your rice powder is white. Each time will take about 30 mins and a lot of arm work and some rice flying around here and there. Good luck!
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
ease of use: 4 out of 5
28 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Works

5 out of 5 stars
jbeemarie - 2 years ago
We've been trying to get our hands on one of these for the longest. Although we wanted one from Mexico, not going to happen anytime soon with no family members heading over there for a while. This is a great one for now.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Brianna - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
DURABLE AND WORKS PERFECTLY!
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great kitchen addition

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
MDShack14 - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
This Molcajete is great. It's much larger than expected and it's great for guacamole. Will be using this very frequently.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Crushing herbs like a champion!

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Designer in the Lord - 3 years ago
This Granite Molcajete is pretty big. I just got done hand washing it as a direction. I'm very excited to have it and to use it. Very, very well made. People may want to complain about everything nowadays. But this is a very well-made item.
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
20 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Its cute!! I love it!!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Deepz - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
wow! I love this mortar and pestle as well .much ideal for grinding spices also i personally find it very useful for preparing ginger garlic paste.The 8inch width of the mortar comfort enough for grinding. also it is bit heavier which make the stuff to grind quickly.I love the shape of the pestle.Its cute!!!!! :)
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
jf - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Similar to a couple other reviews here - my granite molcajete also showed up looking like pieces of cement glued together. It's not sealed/finished at all so every time you touch it, your fingers come away covered in powder. This could never be used with food as you'll end up with flakes and powder in everything that touches it. This was far from what I expected, and next time I'll have to see something like this in store before I buy it.
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
ease of use: 1 out of 5
23 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Nope

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Nunyr - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
I don’t think I like this item for two reasons: 1. It’s made in China 2. It looks to me like it’s a bunch of stone glued together with some kind of glue and then formed. It certainly isn’t solid granite. So with that said I’m not real sure it’s food grade healthy. To be honest. So I’m Going to return it and I to wait until I can eyeball it before I buy one. I think a solid marble or a really nice wood one is going to be better for me.
ease of use: 3 out of 5
easy to clean: 2 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
21 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

A lil taste of Mexico w/out leaving the US

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Chayo78 - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
My family had a traditional one from Mexico which would be hard to find now but this is pretty close to the one my grandmother used when I was a kid. I love it made a salsa and it was better then blending it!!
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Molcajete heaven

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
604 Flatbush Ave - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
I will never purchase salsa or guacamole ever again. The molcajete infuses all the flavors, to give you an explosion rich and clean flavors.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

High-Quality Kitchen Addition

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
The Perfect Gymnast - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
This was a gift for my sister who is an avid cook and loves being in her kitchen. She loved this item, and first used it to grind graham crackers for her cream cheese pie crust, followed by large portions of guacamole! Awesome quality!
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Soren - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Nice Mortar and pestle. Easy to use and well built
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
VL206 - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Love this so far. Wish I had bought sooner. Has been easier to make dips and sauces with fresh ingredients.
Did you find this review helpful?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
ninofrog - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Great product use it a lot
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
mikelintn - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Item came in great condition, and fast! Just as advertised.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

I love guac

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Vspivie - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
I love this and I use it all the time. I got a few of the them to give them to family. It’s a great price and it’s wonderful quality.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

A steal of a deal

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
emartin - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
This mortar & pestle is a terrific addition to any kitchen. I was impressed with how well made it is. Be prepared: it is HEAVY...just over 10 lbs! This item won't move around on the counter as you grind herbs or make guacamole. A steal of a deal at under $15....I bought THREE for friends who love to entertain.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
elia - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
This is heavy duty piece of natural, old fashion kitchen equipment, great product.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Target mocajete

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Daniel - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Smooth granite, short broad feet. Great price. Timely delivery. Great buy.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads