Loading, please wait...

In the Valley of the Devil - (Earl Marcus Mystery) by Hank Early (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Mystery & Detective

Series Title: Earl Marcus Mystery

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Private Investigators

Author: Hank Early

Language: English

Street Date: July 10, 2018
TCIN: 53649573
UPC: 9781683315926
Item Number (DPCI): 248-39-2578
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Praise for In the Valley of the Devil
"Dan Brown's fans should enjoy the mixing of supernatural and thriller elements here; those who favor southern mysteries with gothic elements will be another audience."
--Booklist

"With In the Valley of the Devil, Early cements his position as one of the most innovative voices in mystery and proves he's an author who isn't afraid to tackle important issues without sounding preachy or compromising entertainment."
--Criminal Element

"A storyline that will make the heart pump faster with its intensity...In the Valley of the Devil will appeal to anyone who likes the hardboiled Southern private eye novel where evil lurks beneath the surface of a quiet little town."
--NY Journal of Books

"Hank Early pens rural noir with the best of them, and his protagonist, Earl Marcus, is a worthy addition to the canon of hard-as-bark detectives."
--Laird Barron, author of Blood Standard

Praise for Heaven's Crooked Finger
"You won't put down this powerful and painful tale...a gripping mystery."
--Kirkus starred review

"Can the dead come back to life?...Heaven's Crooked Finger has action, suspense and a cracking good mystery."
--Phillip Margolin, New York Times bestselling author of Violent Crimes and The Third Victim

"From the opening pages of this book, you know you're in the hands of a rare talent. Hank Early has penned a fast-paced, thought provoking, and thoroughly satisfying southern mystery. Heaven's Crooked Finger is a truly astonishing debut, and one of the best rural mysteries I've ever read."
--John Rector, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Ridge, Already Gone, and The Cold Kiss

"Atmospheric...Readers with a taste for raw, intense mysteries will be rewarded."
--Publishers Weekly

"Gritty and riveting...Distinct pacing, a redolent sense of place, and striking characters. The mystery is suspenseful and action packed. Fans of James Lee Burke and John Hart will want to take note."
--Library Journal

"A skillfully crafted southern gothic page-turner. Ophidiophobes, beware."
--Booklist

"Powerful and profound... Heaven's Crooked Finger is an outstanding work of literary suspense, a tale as devastatingly beautiful as it is powerfully intelligent...Remarkable."
--NY Journal of Books

"With Heaven's Crooked Finger, Hank Early has not only written one of the very best novels I've read this year, but also introduced me to my favorite new mystery detective, Earl Marcus. This book is an expert mixture of action, suspense, and compelling characterization that easily establishes Early as a literary force of nature. From the first page, the tension of the Marcus family's impact on their small town, and the threat that poses to Earl, builds like a charge in the atmosphere, present and deadly threatening, leading to an ending that is electric. Heaven's Crooked Finger is going to be on a lot of Best of 2017 lists."
--Bracken MacLeod, Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Stranded and Come to Dust

"A twisty, page-turning, modern southern Gothic that packs an emotional wallop...The real deal."
--Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock

"The novel's rapid pace hurries toward a conclusion that is surprisingly unexpected...A solid foundation for a new crime series."
--Foreword Reviews

"Riveting...A humdinger of a story told with a fresh voice and more than a lick of understanding."
--Bookpage

"A first-class mystery--gripping, atmospheric, and tense from beginning to end. Hank Early's storytelling is truly outstanding."
--Andrew Grant, author of False Friend

"Hank Early's Heaven's Crooked Finger grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. Evocative place writing, memorable-as-hell characters, sentences that hum, great pacing, and a strutting brutality. Early's a writer of great power."
--William Boyle, author of Gravesend

"A Southern Gothic detective story that will long leave readers catching their breath. This one leaves a mark. Early writes like kudzu: The seed drops in the first chapters. The reader should run, lest they soon find themselves entangled, unable to wrest themselves free."
--Eryk Pruitt, author of Dirtbags, Hashtag, and What We Reckon

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended



From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.