Loading, please wait...

Into the Tall, Tall Grass - by Loriel Ryon (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Author: Loriel Ryon

Language: English

Street Date: April 7, 2020
TCIN: 78778862
UPC: 9781534449671
Item Number (DPCI): 247-02-2710
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Yolanda sets out with family and friends to help her grandmother and discovers long-buried secrets about a family curse and the healing power of the magic surrounding her.



Book Synopsis



A girl journeys across her family's land to save her grandmother's life in this captivating and magical debut that's perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.

Yolanda Rodríguez-O'Connell has a secret. All the members of her family have a magical gift--all, that is, except for Yolanda. Still, it's something she can never talk about, or the townsfolk will call her family brujas--witches. When her grandmother, Wela, falls into an unexplained sleep, Yolanda is scared. Her father is off fighting in a faraway war, her mother died long ago, and Yolanda has isolated herself from her best friend and twin sister. If she loses her grandmother, who will she have left?

When a strange grass emerges in the desert behind their house, Wela miraculously wakes, begging Yolanda to take her to the lone pecan tree left on their land. Determined not to lose her, Yolanda sets out on this journey with her sister, her ex-best friend, and a boy who has a crush on her. But what is the mysterious box that her grandmother needs to find? And how will going to the pecan tree make everything all right? Along the way, Yolanda discovers long-buried secrets that have made their family gift a family curse. But she also finds the healing power of the magic all around her, which just might promise a new beginning.



Review Quotes




* "A must-have tale, perfect for fans of emotionally resonant magical realism like Karen Strong's Just South of Home."-- "School Library Journal, starred review"

"This heartfelt family saga weaves together science and magic believably and sensitively."-- "Kirkus Reviews"
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.4 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.