:

product description page

Is It All in Your Head? : True Stories of Imaginary Illness (Hardcover) (Suzanne O'sullivan)

Is It All in Your Head? : True Stories of Imaginary Illness (Hardcover) (Suzanne O'sullivan) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A neurologist's insightful and compassionate look into the misunderstood world of psychosomatic disorders, told through individual case histories  It's happened to all of us: our cheeks flush red when we say the wrong thing, or our hearts skip a beat when a certain someone walks by. But few of us realize how much more dramatic and extreme our bodies' reactions to emotions can be. Many people who see their doctor have medically unexplained symptoms, and in the vast majority of these cases, a psychosomatic cause is suspected. And yet, the diagnosis of a psychosomatic disorder can make a patient feel dismissed as a hypochondriac, a faker, or just plain crazy.   In IS IT ALL IN YOUR HEAD? neurologist Suzanne O'Sullivan, MD, takes us on a journey through the world of psychosomatic illness, where we meet patients such as Rachel, a promising young dancer now housebound by chronic fatigue syndrome, and Mary, whose memory loss may be her mind's way of protecting her from remembering her husband's abuse. O'Sullivan reveals the hidden stresses behind their mysterious symptoms, approaching a sensitive topic with patience and understanding. She addresses the taboos surrounding psychosomatic disorders, teaching us that "it's all in your head" doesn't mean that something isn't real, as the body is often the stand-in for the mind when the latter doesn't possess the tools to put words to its sorrow. The perfect book for fans of Oliver Sacks, Is It All in Your Head? encourages us to look with compassion at the ways in which our brains act out, and to acknowledge the intimate connection between mind and body.
Number of Pages: 291
Genre: Psychology, Health + Wellness
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Suzanne O'sullivan
Language: English
Street Date: January 17, 2017
TCIN: 51543766
UPC: 9781590517956
Item Number (DPCI): 248-23-4036
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$18.32
MSRPReg: $26.95 Save $8.63 (32% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.