Loading, please wait...

Kalifus Rising - (Legends of Orkney) 2 Edition by Alane Adams (Paperback)

Kalifus Rising - (Legends of Orkney) 2 Edition by  Alane Adams (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Kalifus Rising - (Legends of Orkney) 2 Edition by  Alane Adams (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
This item isn't sold in stores
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Edition: 2 Edition

Number of Pages: 384

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic

Series Title: Legends of Orkney

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Sparkpress

Age Range: Teen

Author: Alane Adams

Language: English

Street Date: September 6, 2016
TCIN: 51721995
UPC: 9781940716848
Item Number (DPCI): 248-29-5473

Description

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards: Gold Medal, Best Book Series - Chapter Book
"Sam's internal struggles and focus on the dark side of his witch heritage are reminiscent of Anakin Skywalker and will likely appeal to fanboys and fangirls, particularly as he 'must face the darkness inside.' Combined with strong female leads, both heroic and villainous, the ever growing and changing cast of characters has something for everyone. Fantasy, mythology, a touch of romance, and enough sword fights and battles to appease even the most action-hungry make Kalifus Rising a well-rounded, solid choice for those craving a new type of adventure." --Foreword Reviews FIVE STAR review
"Adams is a master of exposition, never letting it slow the narrative by immersing it in rapid-fire dialogue . . . Indelible characters, both good and evil, and a rescue storyline that refuses to dawdle." --Kirkus Reviews
"This series will do well with the Percy Jackson crowd and fans of Norse mythology." --School Library Journal
Featured on Girls' Life Fall Reading List
Praise and Awards for the Legends of Orkney series:
For The Red Sun
2016 International Book Awards Fiction: Young Adult Finalist
2015 USA Best Book Awards Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner
2015 USA Best Book Awards Children's Fiction, Winner
Beverly Hills Book Award Best Juvenile Fiction, Winner
IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Silver Medal
Readers Favorite Awards Children Preteen Silver Medal Winner
"This fast-moving adventure--the beginning of a trilogy--is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson's antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT A great choice for middle school collections." --School Library Journal
"Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure." --Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)
"The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers." --Readers' Favorite (5 stars out of 5)
"This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other 'chosen one' fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam's anger and frustration with the world . . . it's a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace..." --Kirkus Reviews
"The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don't miss out on this terrific story!" --Karan Brar, actor on Disney's Jessie and Bunk'd
"Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams' knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans." --Hypable
"8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season" --BuzzFeed
"Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process." --Clarion
"Cool read for kids" --Middle Shelf Magazine
"A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun." --Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.