:

product description page

Lark Rising (Reprint) (Paperback) (Sandra Waugh)

Lark Rising (Reprint) (Paperback) (Sandra Waugh) - image 1 of 1

about this item

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.“A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor.” —Juliet Marillier, author ofWildwood DancingLark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.
Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.

?A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor.? ?Juliet Marillier, author ofWildwood Dancing

Lark has foreseen two things?she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets?Life, Death, Dark, and Light?keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 372
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Visionary + Metaphysical, Love + Romance, Science Fiction + Fantasy + Magic
Series Title: Guardians of Tarnec
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Sandra Waugh
Language: English
Street Date: September 22, 2015
TCIN: 17349286
UPC: 9780449817513
Item Number (DPCI): 247-45-8547
$9.99

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.