:

product description page

Left : A Love Story - Unabridged by Mary Hogan (CD/Spoken Word)

Left : A Love Story -  Unabridged by Mary Hogan (CD/Spoken Word) - image 1 of 1

About this item

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City's Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia-perfect for fans of Still Alice

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way ...

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding-but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay's worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband-her rock, her love, her everything-is succumbing to the ravages of dementia.

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay's invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can't accept.

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life's aching uncertainties-and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

Edition: Unabridged
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: AudioCD
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Author: Mary Hogan
Language: English
Street Date: June 19, 2018
TCIN: 53773200
UPC: 9781538550250
Item Number (DPCI): 248-04-1017
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$17.42
MSRPReg: $25.99 Save $8.57 (33% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.