Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Look at You Now : How Keeping a Teenage Secret Changed My Life Forever (Reprint) (Paperback) (Liz Pryor)

Look at You Now : How Keeping a Teenage Secret Changed My Life Forever (Reprint) (Paperback) (Liz Pryor) - image 1 of 1

About this item

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers—but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls.In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water—a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives—and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world.Praise for Look at You Now“A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale.”—People“A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we’re at our most challenged.”—Good Housekeeping“Searingly honest.”Family Circle“Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author’s compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy—her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable.”—Publishers Weekly“[Liz] Pryor’s refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty define the rest of her life are both uplifting and inspiring. An unsentimental yet moving coming-of-age memoir.”—Kirkus Reviews“Pryor has vivid memories of her time in the facility, and her straightforward, unvarnished narrative, written as if by her seventeen-year-old self, rings true. Her story is well worth sharing.”—Booklist“I started reading this book thinking it was a compelling, honest, sometimes funny, sometimes poignant look at the world of teenage pregnancy, and knowing it would offer an inside look at the places where girls used to be hidden away until the
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 260
Genre: Biography + Autobiography, Family + Relationships, Self Improvement
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Liz Pryor
Language: English
Street Date: June 6, 2017
TCIN: 52198063
UPC: 9780812987546
Item Number (DPCI): 248-43-2693
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.55
MSRPwas $17.00

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.