Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Lost Child (Reprint) (Paperback) (Caryl Phillips)

Lost Child (Reprint) (Paperback) (Caryl Phillips) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A gripping and inventive reimagining of Wuthering Heights, by award-winning author Caryl Phillips

In the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and J. M. Coetzee’s Foe, Caryl Phillips revisits Emily Brontë’s masterpiece Wuthering Heights as a lyrical tale of orphans and outcasts, absence and hope. A sweeping novel spanning generations,The Lost Child tells the story of young Heathcliff’s life before Mr. Earnshaw brought him home to his family; the Brontë sisters and their wayward brother, Branwell; Monica, whose father forces her to choose between her family and the foreigner she loves; and a boy’s disappearance into the wildness of the moors and the brother he leaves behind.

Phillips deftly spins these disparate lives—bound by the past and struggling to liberate themselves from it—into a stunning literary work. Phillips has been called “in a league with Toni Morrison and V. S. Naipaul” (Donna Seaman,Booklist), and his work is charged with the complexities of migration, alienation, and displacement. Haunting and heartbreaking,The Lost Child transforms a classic into a profound story that is singularly its own.

Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 260
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Literary
Format: Paperback
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Author: Caryl Phillips
Language: English
Street Date: June 21, 2016
TCIN: 50774351
UPC: 9781250094650
Item Number (DPCI): 248-10-9491
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.87
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $5.13 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.