Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie (Paperback) (Cecily Ross)

Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie (Paperback) (Cecily Ross) - image 1 of 1

About this item

An engrossing novel of historical fiction for readers of The Bride of New France and The Birth House, exploring the intimate life of one of Canada’s most inimitable pioneers and revered literary figures

When the accomplished but penniless writer Susanna Moodie followed her ebullient husband from England to the backwoods of Canada in the 1830s, she was woefully unprepared for life in the wilderness. Her story of survival is part of our national mythology, inspiring a generation of writers from Margaret Atwood to Timothy Findlay. Now, respected writer and editor Cecily Ross ?gives us an unprecedented fictional portrait of Moodie—the sister, the wife, the mother, the writer, a woman confronting both the wilds of Canada and the wilderness of her own heart. Told through imagined “lost diaries,” the novel explores Susanna’s innermost life from childhood through the worst challenges of pioneering in an unforgiving landscape with her devoted but hapless and often absent spouse. Part love story, part coming of age narrative, this captivating novel brings to vivid life Moodie’s courage, wit and strength, as well as her moments of despair. The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie shows how one woman, against all odds and adversity, prevailed and made this savage and beautiful land her own.

Number of Pages: 372
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
Author: Cecily Ross
Language: English
Street Date: May 2, 2017
TCIN: 51706161
UPC: 9781443453509
Item Number (DPCI): 248-29-9640
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.55
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $5.44 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.