Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Lowlands - by Terence Gallagher (Paperback)

Lowlands -  by Terence Gallagher (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Fiction. When James Ward, a high- school freshman living in Queens, meets Cornelia Parsons he gains entry into a very old, very secretive, and to him very attractive world. Cornelia and her enigmatic guardian Miss Widdershins belong to a confederation of travelers, perpetual exiles who left Ireland and Scotland centuries ago and who now recognize no law but their own. They are facing a crisis brought on by a malignant deserter. And now Cornelia expects her new friend James to take a hand. Fans of John Crowley's Little, Big will be fans of this subtle, mysterious novel about two teens coming of age in a too-modern age.

"The story is highly engaging, with a varied array of nostalgic touches from different countries and periods...The various players are quietly but richly delineated, and their conversations ring true; James and Cornelia's relationship is particularly strong. Indeed, the plot often takes a back seat to character development and exploration of the travelers' secret world. This is a welcome choice, however, as Gallagher often handles it deftly."—Kirkus Reviews
Number of Pages: 204
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Livingston Pr
Age Range: Teen
Author: Terence Gallagher
Language: English
Street Date: April 30, 2017
TCIN: 52224071
UPC: 9781604891911
Item Number (DPCI): 248-43-9726
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.70
MSRPReg: $14.95 Save $2.25 (15% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.