:

product description page

Lucky Boy (Reprint) (Paperback) (Shanthi Sekaran)

Lucky Boy (Reprint) (Paperback) (Shanthi Sekaran) - image 1 of 1

about this item

A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez."A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love." Cristina Henríquez, author of The Book of Unknown AmericansIn this astonishing novel, Shanthi Sekaran gives voice to the devotion and anguish of motherhood through two women bound together by their love for one boy. Soli, a young undocumented Mexican woman in Berkeley, CA, finds that motherhood offers her an identity in a world where she's otherwise invisible. When she is placed in immigrant detention, her son comes under the care of Kavya, an Indian-American wife overwhelmed by her own impossible desire to have a child. As Soli fights for her son, Kavya builds her love on a fault line, her heart wrapped around someone else's child. Exploring the ways in which dreams and determination can reshape a family, Sekaran transforms real life into a thing of beauty. From rural Oaxaca to Berkeley's Gourmet Ghetto to the dreamscapes of Silicon Valley, Lucky Boy offers a moving and revelatory look at the evolving landscape of the American dream and the ever-changing borders of love.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 484
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Author: Shanthi Sekaran
Language: English
Street Date: September 5, 2017
TCIN: 52847085
UPC: 9781101982266
Item Number (DPCI): 248-48-9478
$11.00
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $5.00 (31% off)

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.