Loading, please wait...

Marikit and the Ocean of Stars - by Caris Avendaño Cruz (Hardcover)

Marikit and the Ocean of Stars - by  Caris Avendaño Cruz (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Marikit and the Ocean of Stars - by  Caris Avendaño Cruz (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
new at target

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Author: Caris Avendaño Cruz

Language: English

Street Date: October 18, 2022
TCIN: 84862399
UPC: 9780374389093
Item Number (DPCI): 247-31-0803
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



Book Synopsis



A magical middle grade debut, inspired by Filipino folklore, about a ten-year-old girl who embarks on a quest in the world of gods and spirits to save her and her family from a sinister shadow god. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and When You Trap a Tiger.

Marikit is used to wearing recycled clothes. Her mother, the best seamstress in the barrio, has become an expert at making do ever since Marikit's father and brother were lost at sea. But for her tenth birthday, all Marikit wants is something new. So when her mother gifts her a patchwork dress stitched together with leftover scraps from her workshop, Marikit vows to never wear it. That is, until the eve of her birthday, when shadow creatures creep into their home, attempt to take Marikit away, and upend the very life she knew.

When she's swept away from the human world, Marikit discovers that her dress is a map, one lovingly crafted to lead her to safety in the magical lands of the Engkantos. She trudges through the enchanted lands of mythical creatures, making friends out of monsters and challenging gods. With the help of her friends, including an exuberant firefly and a cursed boy, Marikit journeys through the land of the Engkantos to find the key to saving her family, all without being eaten alive.



Review Quotes




Radiant and lyrical. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is woven with love, each line shimmering with beautiful words, forming a timeless story that will find a place in readers' hearts. - Julie Abe, author of the Eva Evergreen series



About the Author



Caris Avendaño Cruz is a copywriter for internet brands and cool businesses, but her favorite things to write are magical stories led by kids of color. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is her debut novel. She lives in Bulacan, Philippines and posts on Twitter and Instagram. Visit her website to learn more.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.38 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.