product description page

Marking the Moment : The Art of Allen Blagden (Hardcover)

$42.38
MSRPReg: $50.00 Save $7.62 (15% off)
shipping not available
free order pickup not available
not sold at Manhattan Herald Square

about this item

“There was a long bench in the living room of our house. And it was full of paper, crayons, watercolors—all the essentials for creating art.” And so begins Allen Blagden’s account of his career, training with his father, an art teacher at the Hotchkiss School in Lakeville, Connecticut. From his earliest days, art informed his life, taking him to the National Serengeti Park in Kenya, to the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, DC, to the South of France, England, and Ireland, and to his beloved Adirondacks and Maine. His watercolors, renowned for their color, compositions, and technique, are held in permanent museum collections across the United States and by countless private collectors.From detailed pencil drawings that illuminate texture and form, he builds on that foundation to create memorable, accurate renditions of his subjects, and his field of vision is encompassing, ranging from portraits of friends, to landscapes, to birds and mammals of all shapes and sizes. An intense sensitivity and precision pervades his work, elevating even the simplest objects to an emotional crescendo. Keeping in the tradition of Winslow Homer and Andrew Wyeth, these works are timeless classics.

trending art, photography & design

  • Golden Girls : 100 Images to Inspire Creativity (Paperback)

    $12.79

  • Paint by Sticker Adult Coloring Book: Create 12 Masterpieces One Sticker at a Time! by Workman Publishing

    $14.95

  • Whatever You Are, Be a Good One (Hardcover)

    $14.95

  • Paint by Sticker : Travel (Paperback)

    $11.96

  • Paint by Sticker : Music Icons: Re-create 12 Iconic Photographs One Sticker at a Time! (Paperback) (Workman Publishing)

    $11.96

recommended

  • Five finger death pu - Wrong side of heaven/Righteous v1 (CD)

    $12.29

  • Women's Pair of Thieves Sport Socks (Jubilee) - Black 6-10

    $5.98

  • Aveeno® Ultra-Calming® Daily Moisturizer For Sensitive Skin With Broad Spectrum SPF 15 - 4 fl oz

    $13.79

  • Vasilus Bonded Leather 29.5" Barstool Set 2ct - Christopher Knight Home

    $269.59 - $336.79

  • PAW Patrol Adventure Bay Railway Track Set

    $22.49


from the manufacturer


guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.