Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Measure of My Powers : A Memoir of Food, Misery, and Paris - by Jackie Kai Ellis (Paperback)

Measure of My Powers : A Memoir of Food, Misery, and Paris -  by Jackie Kai Ellis (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER! For fans of Eat Pray Love, Wild, and H is for Hawk, The Measure of My Powers is the story of one woman's search for self-love, experienced through food and travel."With searing vulnerability and unflinching honesty, Jackie Kai Ellis takes us on an intense and immersive journey from her darkest moments to the redemption she finds through her love of food, Paris, and ultimately, herself."--Jen Waite, bestselling author of A Beautiful, Terrible ThingOn the surface, Jackie Kai Ellis's life was the one that she and every woman wanted. She was in her late twenties and married to a handsome man, she had a successful career as a designer, and she had a beautiful home. But instead of feeling fulfilled, happy, and loved, each morning she'd wake up dreading the day ahead, searching for a way out. Depression clouded every moment, the feelings of inadequacy that had begun in childhood now consumed her, and her marriage was slowly transforming into one between strangers--unfamiliar, childless, and empty. In the darkness, she could only find one source of light: the kitchen. It was the place where Jackie escaped, finding peace, comfort, and acceptance.This is the story of one woman's journey to find herself. Armed with nothing but a love of food and the words of the 20th-century food writer M.F.K. Fisher, she travels from France to Italy, then the Congo, and back again. Along the way, she goes to pastry school in Paris, eats the most perfect apricots over the Tuscan hills, watches a family of gorillas grazing deep in the Congolese brush, has her heart broken one last time on a bridge in Lyon, and, ultimately, finds a path to life and joy.Told with insight and intimacy, and radiating with warmth and humor, The Measure of My Powers is an inspiring memoir, and an unforgettable experience of the senses.
Number of Pages: 277
Genre: Biography + Autobiography, Cooking + Food + Wine
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Jackie Kai Ellis
Language: English
Street Date: March 6, 2018
TCIN: 53267671
UPC: 9780147530394
Item Number (DPCI): 248-59-4541
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.36
MSRPwas $19.95
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.