Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Midnight Showing - (The Malice Compendium) by Megan Shepherd

Midnight Showing - (The Malice Compendium) by Megan Shepherd - image 1 of 1
Midnight Showing - (The Malice Compendium) by Megan Shepherd - image 1 of 1
$26.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Discovering her father's strange final manuscript has brought only mayhem and darkness to Haven Marbury's life.
  • About the Author: Megan Shepherd is a New York Times best-selling and Carnegie Medal-nominated author who grew up in her family's independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains.
  • 368 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Horror
  • Series Name: The Malice Compendium

Description



About the Book



"Book 2 in The Malice Compendium series featuring dark magic and family secrets with a contemporary horror tone"--



Book Synopsis



Discovering her father's strange final manuscript has brought only mayhem and darkness to Haven Marbury's life. In Book Two of the Malice Compendium, what has leapt off the page threatens everybody.

"Gripping, chilling, creepy, and enthralling . . . Malice House channels Shirley Jackson." --Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

"Beautifully written and steeped in Gothic lore, Malice House explores themes of family and legacy, magic and curses, and the mysterious power of stories."
--Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls

Now both hunter and prey, Haven travels far and wide to discover the contours of her family curse and escape the worst of her late father's creations. Constantly looking over her shoulder, she fears Uncle Arnold the most. His irresistible whispers compel victims to commit horrifying deeds, and he's hungry to use Haven's abilities to rewrite the world to his liking.

Drawn to the desert scrublands and Hollywood mansions of California, Haven discovers a string of murders that point directly to members of her family. Given shelter by a mysterious benefactor, Haven and her sister forge questionable allegiances, using some otherworldly creatures to hunt down others. And when the trail of death ends at a studio from the Golden Age of horror films, reality and fiction become the strangest of bedfellows indeed.



Review Quotes




"Megan Shepherd has done it again! I raced through MIDNIGHT SHOWING, completely enthralled in the tightly woven web of twists, turns, and old Hollywood urban legends. THE MALICE COMPENDIUM is quickly becoming my favorite series!"
--Erin A. Craig, #1 New York Times bestselling author of House of Roots and Ruin

(On Malice House) "Haunting and atmospheric, Megan Shepherd expertly blends horror and suspense in her captivating book-within-a-book adult debut. Beautifully written and steeped in Gothic lore, Malice House explores themes of family and legacy, magic and curses, and the mysterious power of stories."
--Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger

(On Malice House) "Gripping, chilling, creepy, and enthralling, Megan Shepherd's new thriller Malice House channels Shirley Jackson, if Shirley Jackson knew how to make me check under the bed every night before going to sleep. Malice House is a must for readers who love gothic horror, creaking old houses, attics overflowing with dark secrets, or for anyone who has ever secretly suspected that there is an entire other universe hovering just out of reach."
--Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of Conversion and The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

(On Malice House) "This book, like Malice House itself, contains many secrets, and you will read it voraciously to try to find and consume them all. May it compel you as swiftly as it compelled me."
--Chuck Wendig, NYT bestselling author of Wanderers and the Star Wars: The Aftermath trilogy

(On Malice House) "In her adult debut, Shepherd (Midnight Beauties) conjures up a twisted tale--made up of even more twisted tales--perfect for adults nostalgic for Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark."
--Library Journal

(On Malice House) "All is not what it seems at Malice House, and Shepherd uses the conventions of a gothic haunted-house tale to keep readers on the edge of their seats. In her adult debut, bestselling young adult author Shepherd has written an intensely spooky and scary tale about the power of stories and the art of creation. Highly recommended."
--Booklist (starred)

(On Malice House) "Each word of this novel felt like a blade down the spine, chilling and haunting and perfectly crafted. Megan Shepherd weaves a story like no one else, and Malice House is no exception."
--Shea Ernshaw, New York Timesbestselling author of A History of Wild Places

(On Malice House) "Shepherd's deft adult debut is a propulsively charming nightmare, pooling like spilled ink across your imagination. Count me a happy resident of Malice House amidst all its monsters."
--Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Hide

(On Malice House) "Utterly original and exquisitely terrifying, Malice House unfolds like a carefully crafted mystery. Every twist and reveal drew me deeper into its walls and the monsters within refused to let me go. Like a bone-chilling Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children for grown-ups."
--Elle Cosimano, USA Today bestselling author of Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

(On Malice House) "Turn on all the lights before you start Malice House, and plan to stay up late. Megan Shepherd's novel is a sophisticated, gothic tale that will keep readers turning the pages and guessing what's next until the very end."
--Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

(On Malice House) "Beyond phenomenal! This book scratched an itch I've had since reading Night Film years ago. I adored every second! Malice, and all its denizens, are going to linger with me for a very, very long time to come!"
--Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Roots and Ruin

(On Malice House) "Megan Shepherd crafts a seriously tight mystery with plenty of red herrings, shocking twists and even a few jump scares, making it a chilling thriller with a totally immersive setting. At the same time, it is a deliciously dark fantasy that is a true testament to the power of stories and perfect for any book lover who has ever wanted to step inside a book or has been obsessed with a favorite author (bad idea, says Haven). Haunting, full of secrets and strangely charming, Malice House is perfect for readers of Leigh Bardugo, Shea Ernshaw and Katherine Howe."
--Bookreporter



About the Author



Megan Shepherd is a New York Times best-selling and Carnegie Medal-nominated author who grew up in her family's independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains. She is the author of many acclaimed novels and now lives and writes on a historic farm outside Asheville, North Carolina, with her family, an especially scruffy dog, and several ghosts.

Author Website: https: //www.meganshepherd.com

Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x 1.4 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.05 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 368
Series Title: The Malice Compendium
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Horror
Publisher: Hyperion Avenue
Format: Hardcover
Author: Megan Shepherd
Language: English
Street Date: October 3, 2023
TCIN: 92322677
UPC: 9781368089296
Item Number (DPCI): 247-32-8638
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.4 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy