Mongoose Index 2.0 20" Freestyle Bike - Silver - image 1 of 4Mongoose Index 2.0 20" Freestyle Bike - Silver - image 2 of 4Mongoose Index 2.0 20" Freestyle Bike - Silver - image 3 of 4Mongoose Index 2.0 20" Freestyle Bike - Silver - image 4 of 4
Mongoose Index 2.0 20" Freestyle Bike - Silver - image 1 of 4
$229.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • BMX freestyle frame that's perfect for the bike park.
  • Light 25/9 Cassette gearing, just like the pros. Alloy caliper brake and rear U-brake provide sure stopping.
  • Alloy caliper brakes and rear U-brake provide sure stopping. Large 2.4 inch tires provide extra stability and grip.
  • Includes 4 freestyle pegs. Cable rotor allows for 360 degree spins.
  • 20" wheel fits children 6+ years old, or 4'0" to 5'0". Comes unassembled.

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 27 Inches (L), 56 Inches (H) x 38 Inches (W)

Weight: 34.28 Pounds

Holds up to: 160 Pounds

Suggested Age: 6 Years and Up

Bicycle Frame Material: Steel

Gear Speeds: 1

Rim Material: Aluminum

Pedal Material: Resin

Seat Material: Vinyl

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Wheel height: 20"

Tire Type: BMX Freestyle

Bicycle frame size: 12"

Tire Width: 2.4 Inches

Bicycle Frame Type: Step-Over

Warranty: Lifetime Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 54051145
UPC: 038675177017
Item Number (DPCI): 082-09-0431
Origin: Imported

Description

Take on the bike park with the Mongoose Index 2.0. This Index bike features a BMX freestyle frame and single speed drive train for easy riding and simple maintenance. The alloy front caliper brake and rear U-brake give you the reliable stopping power you need, while large 2.4 inch tires provide extra stability and grip. Plus, this bike comes with 4 free style pegs and a cable rotor that allows for awesome 360-degree spins. Bike park glory awaits with the Index 2.0. There's nothing you can't do on a Mongoose.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.52 inches length x 47.85 inches width x 22.17 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 36.45 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Hawaii, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Does this bike have a kick stand? Also, my son is 52" and has a 24" inseam will this work for him or will it be too small in a few months?

submitted by mascag - 2 years ago
  • A: Hey there! This model does come with a kickstand! It is also recommended for riders between 4'0 and 5'0, so there's room to grow for your kiddo. Thanks for reaching out!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Mascag- This bike does come with a kick stand and should fit your son for quite some time. The BMX style bike allows for more distance between the pedals and the handlebars so your son won't hit his knees as he grows. Thanks!

    submitted bySchwinn - 2 years ago

Q: Does this bike have pedal (coaster) brakes as well?

submitted by - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Jeanne, No, this bike does not have a coaster brake but it has front and rear alloy caliper brakes that make for reliable stopping. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: hi- no this bike does not have coaster breaks. It has alloy caliper brake & rear U-brake. thanks

    submitted bySchwinn - 2 years ago

Q: What is the frame size?

submitted by Tara - 5 months ago
  • A: Hi Tara: This model has a 12" frame.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 5 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: where do I found the Date Code at??

submitted by THICK_LIL_MAMA - 6 months ago
  • A: Hi there: The date code can be found under the model number on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 6 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the recommended Standover height for this bike?

submitted by summer camp Mom - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there! The standover height for this model is roughly 22".

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Hi! What is the Top Tube (TT) length - (the distance from the inner seat tube along the top tube to the inner headtube) on this bike? I'm looking for an Expert Sized BMX Bike.

submitted by summer camp Mom - 1 year ago
  • A: Hello Summer Camp Mom, This Mongoose Index 2.0 20” bike fits a rider that is 4’0” to 5’0” in height. A Mongoose Expert sized race bike fits a rider that is 5’0” to 5’4” tall. Today Target is not selling a Mongoose bike that would not be considered a Expert sized race bike. have a great day!

    submitted bySchwinn - 10 months ago

Q: Does Target assemble bikes for a fee?

submitted by Chrissy - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Chrissy! Assembly options vary by store. You will have to contact your local Target for their assembly policy. Thank you!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much does this bike weigh?

submitted by Travis - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Travis! Thanks for the question. This ride weighs approximately 31 lbs. Have a great day!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the height from the top of the seat (in its lowest position) to the ground?

submitted by lilmisslisa - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi, The lowest seat position height is 25.5" from the ground. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: is this bike a mens one

submitted by sandy - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Sandy, This is a unisex bike. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
3.5 out of 5 stars with 47 reviews
47% would recommend
21 recommendations
value: 2.82 out of 5
comfort: 3.4 out of 5
quality: 2.56 out of 5

Bike

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Srg - 7 months ago, Verified purchaser
Parts came bent and it took forever to put together because of that!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 7 months ago
Hi there: Oh, no! That's no good. Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help with this. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Love it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Joshua - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Awesome bike! My 8 year old love it!
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Buyer Beware

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
EAJloves Target - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Oh boy, what did I get myself into with this bike. It seems like a cool bike but I didn’t realize that I would have to put the thing together! I don’t recommend this at all, I don’t have the right size tools for all the adjustments you have to make and I don’t know how to put the brake cables on. Hopefully I can get someone to help me before Christmas, otherwise my kid won’t have a new bike this year.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 10 months ago
Hi there! All bikes, when shipped to a residents, is 90% assembled. The parts that need to be added are the handlebars, the front wheel, and the seat. It may be possible to take it into your local store to have it assembled. We would recommend contacting your local Target store to see if this in an option. Thanks for reaching out!
quality: 5 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Should've put it together myself!!

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Meredith Griffin - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Bought this bike for my seven year old and he loves it. The only problem is the kickstand. We had it assembled in the store so, they may have done it wrong, not to mention that didn’t leave us any of the paperwork after they put it together. At first the kickstand was so loose it wouldn’t hold the bike up. It would just fall over. So, I found the right sized Allen wrench and tightened it and now the pedal hits the kickstand with every rotation:( what a pain in the butt!! I can’t find any information online about how it’s supposed to be installed to even try to fix it! Very frustrated!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 1 year ago
Hi Meredith! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to give you a hand with that kickstand! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
value: 4 out of 5
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Cool bike,not the best for learning bmx tricks!

4 out of 5 stars
MillennialMOM - 1 year ago
I purchased this bike for my bmx enthusiast son,He likes it but the handle bars keep getting loose despite the bike being put together by a professional!...Great for the price and it looks cool but strong handle bars are essential when performing tricks so keep that in mind when purchasing
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
KatieK - 1 year ago
Bike was fairly easy to assemble but definitely feels sturdy. My daughter loves the way it looks, feels and rides. And it seems quality enough to be able to pass down to siblings. Would definitely recommend getting it!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing quality

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Targetmom17 - 1 year ago
I got the Blue Mongoose index mag wheel 20 in Freestyle Bike. Packaged well for delivery. The bike is high quality and well designed. The only drawback was building the bike was rather difficult, but it was worth it. Smooth ride great features. Really happy with this bike!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Andy - 1 year ago
Awesome bike. Nice looking, well made and was easy to put together. Love the 360-degree spins feature. Perfect for my kid and it fits him fine. I do recommend this bike if you have a kid who loves riding bikes, they will enjoy this one for sure!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Sweet bike

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Anglski - 1 year ago
This bike is SWEET! Your child will love it (mine does!). I was so impressed with all the details - from the pegs on the front and back to the ability to adjust the angle of the handle bars. My husband put it together in about an hour and a half. He stated that the directions included were a little hard to follow. He recommends following your intuition about how a bike should go together. My son says that it rides very smoothly and he has some very jealous siblings.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Worst bike ever

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Brian swin - 2 years ago
There was something wrong with the bike tire and the chain kept snapping I had to repair is twice
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 1 year ago
Hi there! It looks like you could use some assistance from our Consumer Care Center! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not built like my mongoose in the 80's

2 out of 5 stars
Carmine - 2 years ago
The pedals are so hard to push, I'm assuming it's do the the tiny crank. My sons had the bike since August 2020 and the rear hub is making clanky noise when he pedals... For 200 bucks you'd expect better parts than this...
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 1 year ago
Hi Carmine! It looks like you could use some assistance from our Consumer Care Center! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

don't buy it

1 out of 5 stars
bike - 2 years ago
Waste of money, the handles keep bending and falling.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 years ago
Hey there! We appreciate your review, and are so sorry your bike's handlebars aren't holding up. Our Customer Care Center would be happy to help resolve this issue. We can best be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. Thanks for reaching out!-Jamie
quality: 1 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

SWAG

4 out of 5 stars
Kevin - 2 years ago
The bike has SWAG. My son feels like he's the business on this machine!
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
16 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great Bike

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Dommie Mommy - 2 years ago
My 9 year old son loves his new bike
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
42 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
- 2 years ago
Wast of money I got it for my son last year and the back tire won’t work. Because the bearings broke and my son is very disappointed
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 years ago
The bike comes with a 1 year warranty and we'd like to help if you'll give us chance. A new rim with complete new hub should have him ride ready again. Give us a call at 800-626-2811 Mon-Fri 8am-5pm CST or email customerservice@pacific-cycle.com. Thanks, Nicole
31 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Terrible Bike, but Good Initial Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Concerned Mom - 3 years ago
This bike was purchased new in the fall of 2019. My son rode this bike for the first time on October 28, 2019. As of the beginning of March the back wheel was not turning and/or making a clicking sound and sounding as if the chain was getting locked when my son was pedaling. I took the bike to our local bike shop (had to wait because of COVID-19) and found out that the entire back wheel is defective. The bearing and the sprocket are separating from the tire. This is a safety hazard. I called the Mongoose Bike customer service number and after a considerable wait was pleased that the representative ordered another wheel, with no problem. The wheel is being shipped directly to our local bike shop. I hope this takes care of the issue. Otherwise, I will be looking for a full refund. I am angry that the bike is defective and unsafe, but I am encouraged by the customer service I received and I hope the new wheel takes care of the tire concerns.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
23 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not buy

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Rich - 3 years ago
Guess I should have read the reviews before purchase. Rear wheel bearings are practically falling out. Same with the front neck. My son has ridden the bike only a handful of times since Christmas. Horrible product not worth the money. Now with everyone working from home the company doesn’t even respond to emails.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
18 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not buy this

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Jasmine - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Do not buy it! I have had problems with this bike twice. The first time I bought it I thought it was a defect returned it and the same thing is happening again. The back wheel is not turning. I went to target to try and return it and they are not taking returns till April 16th as of now. With all that is going on this is the only thing my son has to get outside.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
20 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

I recommend it to people or kids that want there first bike.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Great Price - 3 years ago
My kid loves it for his first bike it doesn’t cost that mush and he all ways wants to go outside so he can use it.
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
15 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

DO NOT BUY!!!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Bryson - 3 years ago
This bike is the worst bike I have ever bought I picked this bike up today and the pedals seized up and did not move extremely disappointed!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
Hi Bryson, It sounds like there's a problem with the bearings in your bottom bracket or possibly the rear wheel. The bike does have a 1 year warranty from the date of purchase and we'd like to get you lovin' your new Mongoose. Give us a call at 800-626-2811 Mon-Fri 8am-5pm CST and with a few quick questions we can get have you rollin' ASAP. Thanks, JC
comfort: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
15 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads