Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Purple - image 1 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Purple - image 2 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Purple - image 3 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Purple - image 4 of 4
Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Purple - image 1 of 4
$229.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Steel mountain frame with suspension fork to smooth bumps and increase control on the trail.
  • 21-speed with twist shifters and mountain bike rear derailleur for precise gear changes.
  • Front and rear linear pull brakes provide fast, controlled stops.
  • Alloy rims provide lightweight durability, while the 3-piece crank makes for a reliable power train.
  • 24-inch wheel fits riders 4’8” to 5’6”. This bike comes unassembled.
  • The manufacturer may substitute components with components of equal or greater performance level.

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 48 Inches (L), 40 Inches (H)

Weight: 35 Pounds

Holds up to: 150 Pounds

Suggested Age: 13-18 Years

Bicycle Frame Material: Aluminum

Gear Speeds: 16

Rim Material: Steel

Pedal Material: Plastic

Seat Material: PVC (Polyvinyl Chloride)

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Wheel height: 24"

Tire Type: Knobby

Bicycle frame size: 14"

Tire Width: 2 Inches

Bicycle Frame Type: Step-Through

Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 77523383
UPC: 038675201361
Item Number (DPCI): 082-09-0032
Origin: Imported

Description

Take on steep slopes and tough trails with confidence on the Scepter Mountain Bike from Mongoose. Made for experienced mountain bikers and new riders alike, this hardtail mountain bike is built with a durable steel mountain frame and front suspension fork that are designed to take the abuse of bumps and dips found on dirt paths and trails. 21-speed twist shifters and the mountain bike rear derailleur offer complete control over resistance and speed while traveling, giving you a wide gear range and letting you fine-tune your ride as you go. The Scepter benefits from light and strong alloy rims that help lighten the load and knobby mountain tires that dig into dirt, sand or grass on your toughest rides. Slowing down to a halt, even on a steep hill, is simple thanks to the linear pull brakes. Add in the steel 3-piece crank for superior gearing and there's only one choice for your next mountain ride.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 9.19 inches length x 49.52 inches width x 24.94 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 39.4 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Hawaii, Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Does this bike come assembled?

submitted by SJ - 2 years ago
  • A: No evidently not - just picked up my order and it was in a box...

    submitted byBro - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi SJ! So sorry for the delay in response. Bikes bought online come mostly assembled with some adult assembly required. Some Target stores offer assembly for bikes bought in-store. Thanks for the question!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this bike come with a kick stand?

submitted by Bike Shopping - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! Yes, this bike does come with a kickstand.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi, Yes this bike comes with a kickstand. Thanks

    submitted bySchwinn - 2 years ago

Q: Is this bike for boys or Girls?

submitted by Target shopper - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! This bike is intended for riders 4'8-5'6 with a weight limit of 150 lbs. regardless of gender. Thanks for the question!

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much does the bike weigh?

submitted by Danville Dan - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Dan! This bike weighs approximately 35 lbs. Thanks for the question!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: what is the max weight for this bike?? can an adult use it 5 ft 3 in?

submitted by jboy - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Jboy, The weight limit for the Mongoose Scepter is 150 pounds. We recommend 24" wheels for riders between 54"-62" tall. You are a tad taller than the recommended 62" but the fit will always be determined by the rider preferences. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Where is this bike made?

submitted by BJ - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi BJ, The bike is made in China. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: My child is 4'7 can she use a 24-inch bike? My daughter got the wrong size for her first bike so now I want her New bike to be the right size.

submitted by Faith - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Faith, You can refer to our size chart under the About This Item tab, Average rider height for a 24" bike like the Scepter is 54"-62" inches. Your child should fit great on this bike! Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used by adult with height 5'2" and wt. 190 pounds? 26" bikes are too tall but this bike says it can hold weight up to 1150 pounds only :(

submitted by - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello Nomi - Our bikes are tested in accordance with industry testing standards and regulations, which require that a variety of tests be conducted at different weights and forces. There are a number of factors that impact how much weight a bicycle can withstand including the type of riding, proper assembly, bicycle maintenance, and tire inflation. At 5'2" most 24" bikes would be a great choice. Or check out a 26" bike with a step through frame and rigid seat post. Thanks, Nicole

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this bike come with a kick stand?

submitted by mm - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi, No, unfortunately this bike does not come with a kick stand. Most after market kick stands will be compatible with this bike. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What training wheels will fit this bike?

submitted by Kristelle - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi Kristelle, Standard after market training wheels will be able to fit this bike. The owner's manual will provide step by step guidance on how to install the training wheels. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
2.9 out of 5 stars with 17 reviews
44% would recommend
9 recommendations
quality: 2.75 out of 5
comfort: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5

Gears are junk

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
disappointed consumer - 7 months ago
This bike was a waste of money. Gears broke after a couple of rides…don’t buy!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 7 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 4 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Disappointed at this trash!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
The Luxury Lover - 1 year ago
I'm not impressed with this bike at all! I luckily purchased it before the bike shortage for my daughter birthday and it has been nothing but a headache! Before I begin, I have assembled several bikes on my own, without an issue. (This is attaching wheels, handle bars and seat, just like they do at the store) That being said, I know my way around a bike. The frame on this bike is flimsy at best. I've warned my daughter many times that if she drops it instead of kick standing it, it will bend. The wheels are cheep. Even fully inflated, they make a squeaking noise. Speaking of noise, no matter how oiled and cared for the gears are, they are always sounding rickety and they don't change well at all. There is 1 position we have found where the noise isn't ridiculous. Even with constant maintenance, the handlebars are always shifting. I have to check this piece of junk every other day to make sure it's safe to ride. I'm also disgusted that it wasn't assembled properly, and I don't mean by Target! (They only do the wheels, seat and handlebars). When Mongoose assembled this bike, they improperly connected the break cords to the handle bars. As a result, no matter how you adjust the handlebars (I have taken them off, or they have fallen off several times), there is a break cord that rubs against the front tire. We had to secure it with a zip tie so my daughter could actually ride it. This was a manufacturers defect and when I called Mongoose, over 10 times, they never called back. I emailed them countless times, they replied back once to let me know they were "Happy they could help with my problem and therefore my case is closed". If this was the last bike on the planet, I wouldn't buy it!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 1 year ago
Hi there! We're so sorry about your experience, and would love the opportunity to assist you properly. Please reach out to us with a DM via Facebook or Instagram. Thanks for bringing this problem to our attention!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Happy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Eve - 2 years ago
Just bought this bike im an adult but im super short so i cant reach a 26" bike and this size was just perfect for me i took it out a couple of times now it works very nicely. Happy with my purchase
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Fabulous - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I purchase this bike for my daughter. I was very disappointed because I checked the gears while I was still at the store and notice that the left gear was very hard to shift. The cashier said once iI ride the bike both gears will work. I tested the bike outside of the store but the left gear would not shift. I returned the bike the same day. Very unfortunate because the bike looks very nice.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 1 year ago
Hi there! We're so sorry about this experience, but are glad you were able to make a successful return. If the gears are not shifting properly, more than likely the derailleur needs to be adjusted. Instructions on how to make these adjustments can be found in our owner's manuals, and Parktool.com is also a great resource for a video tutorial on how to make these adjustments.
comfort: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Derailer broke

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
JoeA - 2 years ago
On a flat surface ride home from a short 3mile ride, the derailed bent into the spoke. My daughter wasn’t shifting and had a hard fall from the issue. I had to bend it out of the spokes so we could walk it home. I’m not happy, my daughter just got the bike and is very upset.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 years ago
Hi Joe! We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with one of our products and hope your daughter is doing well. Please contact us at 1.800.626.2811 and ask for extension 39423. Thanks for reaching out!-Jamie
value: 1 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Won't last long

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
ChrisFromCleveland - 2 years ago
Had for about 72 hours when on a ride with my daughter I noticed the rear hub had a wobble and her gear cassette was wobbling causing her chain to pop when she shifts. As someone who works on my own roadbikes, I put it in the stand took off the rear wheel and saw how horribly these are built first hand, I don’t even know if it’s worth taking apart to fix. I may just return it but of course now none of the bikes are in stock at target.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 years ago
Hi Chris! We appreciate your review and are so sorry about your experience. The good news is our bikes come with a great limited lifetime warranty. Our Customer Care Center would be happy to help get this bike back up to code and on the road! We can best be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. Thanks for your feedback!-Jamie
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great starter Mountain Bike

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
lcaudle83 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I purchased as in store pickup and did not see that assembly was required, read the small print. The more challenging parts of assembly luckily were completed by the company. Which I am thankful for because the directions were hard to follow, at least for me. My daughter loves it! Great value for the price point.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 years ago
Hello there! We appreciate your review, and are so happy your daughter loves her new 'Goose! If you're ever having trouble with assembly, you can always reach out to your local Wal-Mart or our Customer Care Center for assistance. We can best be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. Thanks for your feedback!-Jamie
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Girls will like it!

4 out of 5 stars
AL - 2 years ago
Pretty happy with my purchase. Bike is good quality, at this price range, I don't expect much, it's a fair price for what you get. The front drum brake is a surprise, but honestly it's also troublesome. The builder from target did an "ok" job, but not perfect, front drum brake was squeaking, kick stand was super tight.... But again, it's a economic bike for kids to learn, expect some adjustments here and there, but nice bike after all. -1 star for the weight vs max weight handle. It should either be lighter or handle more weight.
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

She loves it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
shgordon - 2 years ago
My little girl loves this bike. we picked it up at target so it was already assembled and it's perfect.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

good bike

5 out of 5 stars
mimi - 2 years ago
my niece loves it, its very comfortable to ride .
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Very high quality bike for the price & less initial adjustments than I expected!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
zeioIIDX - 3 years ago
Bought this for my daughter who turns 11 this month as an early birthday present. Her previous bike was 20" and we could no longer raise the seat or handle bars any higher so it was time to get a 24" due to the bike making her feel a bit cramped while riding. This new bike fits her perfectly, she's about 4'5" tall. The bike came assembled since I grabbed it fight off the rack at the store. When we got it home, I did have to make slight adjustments to the right brake lever because it was pulling in a bit much. I also raised the seat so that her legs could extend properly and raised the handlebar. Be careful when unscrewing the long handlebar clamp bolt from the small stem wedge located inside the stem because the stem wedge remained inside the stem in my case. Fortunately, all I had to do was take a pencil and push up from opening underneath the stem and it pushed the stem wedge right out for me. I also made an adjustment to the rear brakes so that the brake pads were properly aligned. Very simple to do with a quick YouTube tutorial and the included manual instructs you on how to do this as well. The only other thing to look out for is that I heard a slight rubbing noise while my daughter was peddling. Turns out that the front disc brake was just ever so slightly rubbing against the pads. All I had to do was loosen two caliper screws a bit, squeeze the left brake lever all the way in so that it aligned the brake disc properly, then screwed the two caliper screws back in fully before finally releasing the brake lever. After that, no more rubbing. As far as her riding experience with the bike, she said it was comfortable and she was glad her arms did not get sore while riding. She did complain about the seat feeling a bit stiff after a while but that's to be expected on a stock bicycle seat that hasn't been broken in as well as the fact that she just hasn't gotten used to riding a bike as much as I used to as a kid, haha. I'm happy with my purchase and would recommend this bike, it performs very well and she loves it already! Just make sure that you check the brakes, gears, tire air pressure, handlebar/seat alignment, etc before letting your child go out an ride...and honestly, these are basic things anybody should check when purchasing a brand new bike to begin with (prior to the first time it's ridden).
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
48 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads