Loading, please wait...

Mother Knows Best - by Kira Peikoff (Hardcover)

Mother Knows Best - by  Kira Peikoff (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Mother Knows Best - by  Kira Peikoff (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Not in stores
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 288

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Book theme: Medical

Author: Kira Peikoff

Language: English

Street Date: September 10, 2019
TCIN: 77713310
UPC: 9781643850405
Item Number (DPCI): 247-59-5269

Description

Praise for Mother Knows Best

"The psychological thriller everyone will be talking about...Don't miss it!"
--Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of After Anna

"A story about female identity just as much as motherhood...Quite the page turner."
--Cultured Vultures

"[A] propulsive, page-turning thriller...the pace hardly stops for a breath."
--The Nerd Daily

"[A] fascinating psychological thriller...Peikoff expertly exposes the dark side of contemporary medical science"
--Publishers Weekly

"Peikoff (Living Proof, 2012, etc.) deftly juggles past and present and multiple voices in short, punchy chapters that create a sense of urgency while exploring grief, motherhood, the bonds of family...An engaging and timely thriller that offers lots of food for thought."
--Kirkus Reviews

"[Peikoff] can make complex scientific procedures comprehensible for even the non-scientist...Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook will want to check this out."
--Library Journal

"[Mother Knows Best] had me compulsively turning the pages to find out what happens next!...This novel does a terrific job of presenting controversies in bioethics in the easily accessible prose of a psychological thriller."
--Criminal Element

"A compelling tale....Peikoff knows what she's talking about as she weaves a believable yarn that includes gaslighting, manipulating (of cells and minds) and how a mother's love can triumph."
--NJ.com

"Kira Peikoff has crafted a smart, pulse-pounding, and achingly human story of a family in the cross hairs of where ethics and science converge. A totally satisfying read."
--Andrew Gross, New York Times bestselling author of Button Man

"A rocket-paced thriller that dives deep into questions about science, family, and how far we'll go to protect the people we love the most."
--Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Stranger Inside

"Mother Know Best is thought-provoking, nail-biting, and heartfelt...I couldn't put it down."
--Meg Gardiner, award-winning author of UNSUB

"Timely, tense, and trailblazing...Peikoff's seamless prose, very human, voice, and whiplash pacing makes this psychological thriller one of the must-reads of 2019. Two mothers is one too many."
--K. J. Howe, international bestselling author of The Freedom Broker

"Pekioff's work is always a joy to read. This is a smart, original and compelling thriller."
--Peter James, #1 bestselling author of the Roy Grace series

"Kira Pekioff hasn't just done her research, she's spun it into a real-life bioelthical dilemma that could be coming soon to a doctor's office near you. Perfect for a book group--or to race through all by yourself...flat-out fantastic."
--Brad Parks, international bestselling author of The Last Act

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
0% would recommend
1 recommendations

Review images (1)

Guest review image 1 of 1, zoom in

Mother Might Not Know Best

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
medwards429 - 1 month ago
Thank you to the publisher and Bookish First for an ARC to review. All views are my own and in no way influenced by the author, publisher, or Bookish First. “Mother Knows Best” is a medical suspense/thriller novel by Kira Piekoff, told with POVs – Claire, Abby (Claire’s daughter), and Jillian. This unique book doesn’t have chapters per se (chapter 1,2, etc.) and reads more as a long novella told over four (4) parts with only the POV to transition between scenes, alternating between past and present during parts one (1) and two (2). After part three (3) it remains in the present. Claire her son Colton died due to mitochondrial disease as a result of a genetic mutation she passed on. A few years later, her husband Ethan wants to have another child, as does Claire. But, Claire wants a healthy child as she fears this second child will also die like Colton did. Dr. Robert Nash and Jillian Hendricks (cunning young scientist) offer Claire Abrams a chance to achieve her goal – mixing DNA from three parents. However, their experiment is highly illegal and must be kept quiet. Claire’s husband wants no part of it at all. His growing paranoia about his wife causes everything to come out. Interesting premise – but this book just didn’t grab me. I continued reading it as I had agreed to review it. Villain was clearly established and left no room for doubts. The motive was very clear, even right at the beginning. There was not much interaction with other people outside of the “family” unit. I didn’t find it a thriller or drama. More like a sci-fi/suspense novel. Definitely wasn’t thrilling to me, not in the least. The end regarding Robert and Claire’s fate was a bit too clean. If you’re a fan of the author, you might enjoy this read. If you’re on the fence, borrow it from the library first.
Guest review image 1 of 1, zoom in
Did you find this review helpful?
Report review

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.