:

product description page

My First Dictionary (Original) (Paperback) (Ross Horsley)

My First Dictionary (Original) (Paperback) (Ross Horsley) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Blogger and librarian Ross Horsley delivers a wickedly satirical children’s dictionary for today’s warped bibliophile, comprised of sunny illustrations from a real 1940s kids’ book paired with irreverent—and often twisted—definitions. At once cute and darkly funny, Horsley’s My First Dictionary is perfect for fans of The Book of Bunny Suicides, Grandma’s Dead, The Three Martini Playdate,Cyanide & Happiness and Little Billy’s Letters—and will fast-track your inner child to becoming the corrupted youth you’ve always hoped for.

Hello, boys and girls, and welcome to the wonderful world of words! You've learned the basics—from apple to zebra—but what about all those mysterious new terms you've heard the grown-ups whispering when you were supposed to be tucked up snugly in bed?

What makes Mommy so bitter? Where does Daddy conceal the door to his secret S&M dungeon? And why is everyone laughing about Grandma's latest delusion?

My First Dictionary answers these questions, and includes many other useful definitions, such as:

A burden is a source of worry or stress. Old people are usually burdens.

Father is nostalgic. He is remembering the happier times before you were born.

A puppy is a young dog. Connie gets a puppy every time she agrees not to tell. Daddy calls them hush puppies.

A zigzag is a jagged line. We can tell that Mother has been drinking when she drives in a zigzag pattern.

Carry a copy of My First Dictionary in your schoolbag and you'll never be at a loss for words again!

Edition: Original
Number of Pages: 175
Genre: Humor
Sub-Genre: Vocabulary
Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
Author: Ross Horsley
Language: English
Street Date: February 1, 2011
TCIN: 13103945
UPC: 9780062000019
Item Number (DPCI): 248-57-5229
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.