:

product description page

Nightborn (Paperback) (Lou Anders)

Nightborn (Paperback) (Lou Anders) - image 1 of 1

about this item

For fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy that began withFrostborn. Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. Not a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves. Meet Desstra. She’s in training to join the Underhand—the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be. Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly? The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers. Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more! Praise for Nightborn“Anders presents a captivating world.” —Kirkus Reviews”[A]n adventure story with good pacing, well-drawn characters, and engaging action scenes.” —Booklist Praise for Frostborn“Future fans of Tolkien and George R. R. Martin can happily cut their serial-fantasy teeth on this first book of an eventual series.” —Kirkus Reviews“A fun, fast-paced, and highly enjoyable tale.” —Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Abhorsen trilogy“A powerful, fast-paced tale. . . . The setting is rich, the characters well-defined, and the danger ever-paramount.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred“An excellent choice for readers new to the genre. The themes of staying true to oneself, teamwork, and individuality will resonate with readers.” —School Library Journal“The most delightful fantasy I have read in ages. . . . Put me on the waiting list for book two!” —Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me seriesFrom the Hardcover edition.
Number of Pages: 352
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Series Title: Thrones and Bones
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Lou Anders
Language: English
Street Date: July 26, 2016
TCIN: 52256624
UPC: 9780385390392
Item Number (DPCI): 248-44-4047
$7.19
MSRPReg: $7.99 Save $0.80 (10% off)

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.