Loading, please wait...

Ollie and Augustus - by Gabriel Evans (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 40

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Animals

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)

Age Range: 4-8 Years

Book theme: Dogs

Author: Gabriel Evans

Language: English

Street Date: May 26, 2020
TCIN: 79515256
UPC: 9781536209679
Item Number (DPCI): 247-37-8138
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"First published by Walker Books Australia 2019"--Copyright page.



Book Synopsis



In a sweet story full of visual humor, first-day-of-school worries take on a new weight when Ollie's best (and furriest) friend must stay at home.

Ollie was small -- like a pickling jar or a shoe box.
Augustus was big -- like a fridge or a table.

Ollie and his dog, Augustus, do almost everything together: painting, riding bikes, digging (Ollie's favorite), and collecting sticks (Augustus's favorite). So as Ollie is getting ready to start school, he's a little worried. Won't Augustus be lonely during the day? Ollie has just the idea: a sign that reads Wanted: Friend for Augustus. But good friends, as it turns out, are hard to find. Luckily, Ollie and Augustus aren't just any kind of friends -- they're best friends, and nothing will ever change that. Endearingly illustrated with scratch-scratchy appeal, this is a tale for animal lovers and new school-goers alike.



Review Quotes




Delicate earth-toned illustrations rely on fine, sketchy outlines, pale color highlights, and all-white backgrounds to humorously flesh out the spare text. Fragile, diminutive Ollie appears an unlikely match for his massive canine buddy, but amusing vignettes reveal these pals engrossed in painting, bike riding, people watching, dressing up, tree climbing, and, of course, digging and stick collecting. An endearing, visually rib-tickling ode to best friends.
--Kirkus Reviews

Sweet and spare, the illustrations convey large feelings, especially Ollie's worries, and his relief about discovering that Augustus doesn't mind entertaining himself. This gentle account of separation anxiety and companionship is a nice tonic for first-day-of-school nerves, in the vein of Oliver and His Alligator (2013), by Paul Schmidt.
--Booklist



About the Author



Gabriel Evans has been illustrating children's books since he was seventeen. Augustus is partially inspired by his rescue border collie, who thinks she is bigger than she is. Gabriel Evans lives in Australia.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 13 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 8.7 inches width x 10.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.