Loading, please wait...

Once Upon a Sunset - by Tif Marcelo (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.3 Inch (W) x 1 Inch (D)

Weight: .6 Pounds

Number of Pages: 352

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Women

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Gallery Books

Author: Tif Marcelo

Age Range: Adult

Language: English

Street Date: March 3, 2020
TCIN: 77353097
UPC: 9781982115937
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-2281
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"A novel about a woman who travels to the Philippines to reconnect with her long-lost family ... and manages to find herself along the way"--



Book Synopsis



The author of The Key to Happily Ever After--"a true gem filled with heart, laughs, and a cast of delightful characters" (Nina Bocci, USA TODAY bestselling author)--returns with a heartwarming and charming novel about a woman who travels to the Philippines to reconnect with her long-lost family...and manages to find herself along the way.

Diana Gallagher-Cary is at a tipping point. As a Washington, DC, OB/GYN at a prestigious hospital, she uses her career to distract herself from her grief over her granny's death and her breakup from her long-term boyfriend after her free-spirited mother moves in with her. But when she makes a medical decision that disparages the hospital, she is forced to go on a short sabbatical.

Never one to wallow, Diana decides to use the break to put order in her life, when her mother, Margo, stumbles upon a box of letters from her grandfather, Antonio Cruz, to her grandmother from the 1940s. The two women always believed that Antonio died in World War II, but the letters reveal otherwise. When they learn that he lived through the war, and that they have surviving relatives in the Philippines, Diana becomes determined to connect with the family that she never knew existed, though Margo refuses to face her history. But Diana pushes on, and heads on a once-in-a-lifetime trip that challenges her identity, family history, and her idea of romantic love that could change her life forever.

Infused with Tif Marcelo's signature "sexy, adorable, and heartfelt" (Kate Meader, USA TODAY bestselling author) voice, Once Upon a Sunset is a moving and lyrical celebration of love, family, and second chances.



Review Quotes



Praise for The Key to Happily Ever After

"A charming, fun read. I love these sisters! Clear your calendar--once you start, you won't be able to put down this wonderful story."--Susan Mallery, # 1 New York Times bestselling author of California Girls "Booklist"

"The Key to Happily Ever After gave me so many emotions: I loved and cheered for all three sisters, and wanted to shake each of them in turn; I swooned for all of the romance; and I got choked up about their struggles and their victories. But mostly, I loved the de la Rosa sisters so much, and I can't wait for the whole world to love them." --Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal "Booklist"

"A beautiful story about the bonds of family and the challenges of love -I was cheering for all the de la Rosa sisters!" --Jennifer Probst, New York Times bestselling author of All or Nothing at All "Booklist"

"Devoted sisters, swoony new loves, and wedding drama--what more could you ask for in a perfect summer read? The Key to Happily Ever After delivers it all with Tif Marcelo's enchanting prose. By the end, you'll want to be a de la Rosa sister, too!"--Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake "Booklist"

"The de la Rosa sisters are much like the flower in their name: delicate and poised but also fiercely strong. As the trio takes over the family wedding planning business, they will need all those traits and more to transform their careers for a new generation. As they forge their paths both together and separately, these three sisters discover that love--like a wedding--is all about timing. Full of wisdom, wit and, of course, wedding gowns, Tif Marcelo's latest charmer proves that, sometimes, The Key to Happily Ever After, comes along when you least expect it. This endearing, deeply poignant trip down the aisle(s) is full of romance, unexpected twists and the perfect helping of family drama."--Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of The Southern Side of Paradise "Booklist"

"The lush backdrop of the Philippines brings new chances at love for both Diana and Margo as the old love letters connect them to a new family."--Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of Secrets of Worry Dolls "Booklist"

"This is the most aptly titled romance. A true gem filled with heart, laughs and a cast of delightful characters. I read (and adored) The Key to Happily Ever After in one sitting!" --Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate "Booklist"

"Marcelo charms in this feel-good story... The layered plot, which includes a dark period in Mari's past that places roadblock to finding love in the present, and the cast of colorful supporting characters, particularly sassy shop seamstress Amelia, are a treat. Fans of Jill Shalvis and Jane Green will particularly enjoy this."--Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate "Publishers Weekly"

"Marcelo movingly portrays sisters who love each other to death but also drive each other crazy. Give this to readers who like Susan Mallery's portrayal of complicated sisters, or Jasmine Guillory's sweet, food-focused city settings."--Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate "Booklist"

"This sweet family story/romance will appeal to fans of Susan Mallery and RaeAnne Thayne. Especially suitable for public libraries looking for more #ownvoices authors."--Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate "Library Journal"

"Tif Marcelo does it again. Once Upon a Sunset balances a tragic family secret with a hopeful future, wrapped in an authentic mother-daughter relationship. Grab some sunscreen, dip your toes in the sand, and dive into this sublime beach read." --Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

"A richly drawn and poignant tale of finding yourself in unexpected places and connecting with the unlikeliest of allies."--Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of Secrets of Worry Dolls

Praise for Once Upon a Sunset

"Once Upon a Sunset will sweep readers up in a heartfelt story of long-lost family secrets and bright new beginnings that spans from World War II to today. I always look forward to a new book from Tif Marcelo!"--Julia Kelly, bestselling author of The Light Over London

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.31 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.