Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Outside Lands (Hardcover) (Hannah Kohler)

Outside Lands (Hardcover) (Hannah Kohler) - image 1 of 1

About this item

San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman,and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life.

An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli'sThe Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Landsis a powerful, confident debut.

Number of Pages: 294
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Literary
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Author: Hannah Kohler
Language: English
Street Date: August 23, 2016
TCIN: 51407456
UPC: 9781250080929
Item Number (DPCI): 248-20-3658
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$17.67
MSRPwas $25.99

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.