Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Paperboy (Hardcover) (Vince Vawter)

Paperboy (Hardcover) (Vince Vawter) - image 1 of 1

About this item

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird."Booklist, Starred"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!"—ROB BUYEA, author ofBecause of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls AgainThis Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird,The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.A Newbery Honor Award WinnerAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s BookAn IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ ChoiceAn IRA Teachers’ ChoiceA Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the YearA National Parenting Publications Award Honor BookA BookPage Best Children’s BookAn ABC New Voices PickA Junior Library Guild SelectionAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s RecordingAn ALA-YALSA Amazing AudiobookA Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection“[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington PostPaperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate thispositive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America*“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly,Starred“An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews“Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

One summer changes the world for a boy who stutters.

A 11-year old boy living in Memphis in 1959 throws the meanest fastball in town, but talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he knows he'll be forced communicate with the different customers, including a housewife who drinks too much and a retired merchant marine who seems to know just about everything. 

The paper route poses challenges, but it's a run-in with the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, that stirs up real trouble?and puts the boy's life, as well as that of his family's devoted housekeeper, in danger.  
Number of Pages: 224
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Vince Vawter
Language: English
Street Date: May 14, 2013
TCIN: 14539679
UPC: 9780385742443
Item Number (DPCI): 247-07-9992
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$11.89
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $5.10 (30% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.