Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Pictures - Reprint by Guy Bolton (Paperback)

Pictures -  Reprint by Guy Bolton (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award
"THE PICTURES is a compelling and dazzling debut for fans of Raymond Chandler and James Ellroy. Bolton's tightly paced mystery vividly re-creates 1930s Hollywood and is enriched with complicated, fascinating and flawed characters."-- Shelf Awareness
"Atmospheric...provides a pleasant tour of Hollywood's golden age. "
—Kirkus Reviews
"Guy Bolton manages to create real atmosphere in THE PICTURES. Kudos to him for that atmosphere — which isn't restricted to just the MGM lot and the glamorous Lilac Club downtown, but also includes several disparate Los Angeles neighborhoods where interesting crimes might take place."
- NPR Books
Hollywood 1939. The year that The Wizard of Oz and Gone with the Wind were made. Detective Craine has spent his life working as a studio fixer, whitewashing the misdemeanours and crimes committed by the studio players and stars. But now he’s trying to turn his back on that life following the recent death of his wife as he’s determined to be a better parent to his young son.
But then Craine’s services are called upon one last time. MGM need him to smooth over the press coverage of the suicide of one of their producers. And soon, what should be a straightforward case proves anything but when connections are made between it and a brutal murder across town. And that’s just the start of the story.

It’s only a matter of time before Craine must decide whether to follow orders, or to attempt to redeem a career of concealment by going in search of the ugly truth. It’s a choice he knows that cannot end well.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Pgw
Author: Guy Bolton
Language: English
Street Date: September 11, 2018
TCIN: 53302046
UPC: 9781786072450
Item Number (DPCI): 248-61-1151
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.19
MSRPwas $14.99
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.