Loading, please wait...

Piper Reed, Navy Brat - (Piper Reed (Quality)) by Kimberly Willis Holt (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 146

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Humorous Stories

Series Title: Piper Reed (Quality)

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Square Fish

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Author: Kimberly Willis Holt

Language: English

Street Date: March 29, 2011
TCIN: 13326463
UPC: 9780312625481
Item Number (DPCI): 248-62-4039
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



National Book Award winner Holt begins a brand-new series based on her own childhood experience as a member of a Navy family. Nine-year-old Piper Reed loves being part of a Navy family, and wherever she goes, adventure is sure to follow. Illustrations.



Book Synopsis



Based on her own childhood experience, Kimberly Willis Holt's Piper Reed, Navy Brat portrays the life of a Navy family with warmth and humor.

It's not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Meet Piper Reed, a spunky nine-year-old who has moved more times than she can count on one hand. From Texas to Guam, wherever Piper goes, adventure follows, inspired by her active imagination, free-wheeling spirit, and a bit of sister magic. Unlike her older sister, Piper loves being part of a Navy family, and unlike her little sister, Piper is no prodigy genius. Piper is Piper--fearless and full of life.



Review Quotes




"Filled with warm, realistic family situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels." --The Horn Book Magazine

"This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby." --School Library Journal

"...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat." --Booklist

"Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner..." --Publishers Weekly

"Piper's lively imagination, wholesomeness and moments of 'sister magic' are likable and believable. This easy chapter book, based on Holt's own experiences, is spot on with the details of roving family life. Davenier's fluid black-and-white drawings fit the mood and characters . . . Launching a new series, Piper's foray sets sail with verve, fun and spunk." --Kirkus Reviews




About the Author



Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including Piper Reed, Navy Brat, Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen, and Piper Reed, Rodeo Star. She has written many award-winning novels, including The Water Seeker and My Louisiana Sky, as well as the picture books Waiting for Gregory and Skinny Brown Dog. A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world--from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family.

Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children's books, and won a New York Times-Best Illustrated Award for The First Thing My Mama Told Me. She lives in Paris, France.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 20 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.34 inches width x 7.12 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.3 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
0% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.