Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Playlist for the Dead (Reprint) (Paperback) (Michelle Falkoff)

Playlist for the Dead (Reprint) (Paperback) (Michelle Falkoff) - image 1 of 1

About this item

“A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire.” Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff’s debut novel is an honest and gut-wrenching first novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that’s always defined you—and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam’s best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam—listen and you’ll understand. To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn’t as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he’ll finally be able to piece together his best friend’s story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

“An absorbing and sensitive read.”
   — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam’s engaging investigation.”
   — ALA Booklist

“Realistic and well-written…The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers.”
   — School Library Journal

“Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care.”
   — Publishers Weekly

“Truly powerful moments.”
   — Kirkus Reviews

Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 28115
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Friendship, Suicide
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Michelle Falkoff
Language: English
Street Date: October 25, 2016
TCIN: 51502941
UPC: 9780062310514
Item Number (DPCI): 248-22-2712
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$9.99
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.