Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Proxy (Hardcover) (Alex London)

Proxy (Hardcover) (Alex London) - image 1 of 1

About this item

The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want?the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death. Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own. Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid. A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship?just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story. Praise for PROXY ?Looking for an awesome YA summer read? Look no further than Alex London’s Proxy.” ?EntertainmentWeekly.com "Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." ?Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy ?[A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read.” ?Kirkus Reviews ?A fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of the Hunger Games.” ?VOYA"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" ?Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle?Gripping.” ?Examiner.com ?Proxy moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination.” ?Deseret News ?A big twist
"Privileged Syd and and his proxy, Knox, are thrown together to overthrow the system"--
Number of Pages: 379
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Issues / Friendship, Action + Adventure / General
Series Title: Proxy
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: Teen
Author: Alex London
Language: English
Street Date: June 18, 2013
TCIN: 14522271
UPC: 9780399257766
Item Number (DPCI): 247-07-9583
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.59
MSRPwas $17.99

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.