product description page

Rising Above Shepherdsville (Hardcover) (Ann Schoenbohm)

$12.59
MSRPReg: $17.99 Save $5.40 (30% off)
shipping not available
free order pickup not available
not sold at Manhattan Herald Square

about this item

In the tradition of The Higher Power of Lucky and Because of Winn Dixie, here is a riveting debut about love, loss, family, friendship, and redemption.

In the summer of 1977, twelve-year-old Dulcie Louise Dixon arrives on the doorstep of her Aunt Bernie’s farmhouse in Shepherdsville, Ohio, with no voice, a spelling bee trophy, a Webster’s Dictionary, and a box full of ashes. She tries to adjust to her new situation, but can’t forget the words she left behind or the mother she’s lost to suicide.

One day, Dulcie discovers a secret place: a swan’s nest in the woods where at last, her broken world begins to mend. With the help of her surprising new friends—a guitar-playing runaway, a poetry-loving preacher, a one-armed gas station attendant, a singing seamstress, a chained-up hunting dog, and a family of swans—Dulcie is finally able to rise out of her sadness and grief to find her voice once again.

more to consider

  • Revolutionary Rogues : John Andre and Benedict Arnold -  by Selene Castrovilla (Hardcover)

    $12.56

  • Ruth Heller's Designs for Coloring Butterflies (Reissue) (Paperback)

    $6.99

  • Way of the Warrior Kid : From Wimpy to Warrior the Navy Seal Way (Hardcover) (Jocko Willink)

    $13.99

  • Rising Above : How 11 Athletes Overcame Challenges in Their Youth to Become Stars (Hardcover) (Gregory

    $12.59

  • Jane Eyre (Reissue) (Paperback) (Charlotte Bronte)

    $4.99

recommended

  • SheaMoisture® Mongongo & Hemp Seed Oils High Porosity Moisture-Seal Shampoo - 13 fl oz

    $10.99

  • 2018 TF Publishing Desk Calendar

  • Employment Discrimination (Paperback) (Joel Wm. Friedman)

    $50.30

  • Thousands : Poems (Paperback) (Lightsey Darst)

    $11.56

  • Love Print Throw Pillow Collection - Surya

    $20.99 - $27.99


from the manufacturer


guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.