Loading, please wait...

Sawkill Girls - by Claire Legrand (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 464

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: General

Author: Claire Legrand

Language: English

Street Date: October 2, 2018
TCIN: 53679760
UPC: 9780062696601
Item Number (DPCI): 248-42-7581
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



From the author of the Edgar-nominated "Some Kind of Happiness" comes a frightening horror novel about three teenage girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women. "Old-school horror meets fresh, female-forward fury."--Elana K. Arnold, author of the National Book Award finalist "What Girls Are Made Of." 5/16.



Book Synopsis



"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." --Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." --Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS

A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE

A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.



Review Quotes




★"This atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror... includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, [and] focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance... If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you."--Kirkus Reviews

★"Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female...an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable."--ALA Booklist (starred review)

"With prose as fierce and uncompromising as its three main characters, SAWKILL GIRLS is a fresh and unflinching exploration of female friendship wrapped in a spine-tingling page-turner. Claire Legrand doesn't hold back--and you won't be able to put this book down."
--- Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

★"Cinematically, gorgeously creepy and horrific, sliding between breathlessly suspenseful and disturbingly grotesque."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

★"Legrand accomplishes the kind of slow-building tension and mounting horror that will give readers night terrors. Read this book, then lock it in the freezer."--Shelf Awareness (starred review)

★"Legrand's lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting.... Rich and earthy horror."--School Library Journal (starred review)

"Claire Legrand tells an eerie, feminist horror story that's perfect for reading close to Halloween."--Bustle

"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power."--Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

"Old-school horror meets fresh, female-forward fury. Claire Legrand masterfully paints this island world of terror with a blood-soaked brush."--Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of

"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength."--Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.5 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.