Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Scent of Secrets (Paperback) (Jane Thynne)

Scent of Secrets (Paperback) (Jane Thynne) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Führer’s plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking ****** wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. ****** keeps his “secret” girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva’s delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, ******’s private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn—and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.Advance praise for The Scent of Secrets“A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.”—Beatriz Williams,New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers“A compelling story of love and betrayal in ******’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the ****** wives.”—Daisy Goodwin, author ofThe American Heiress“An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series“An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!”Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge MysteriesLook for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Number of Pages: 422
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Espionage, History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Inc
Author: Jane Thynne
Language: English
Street Date: September 15, 2015
TCIN: 17392662
UPC: 9780553393903
Item Number (DPCI): 247-46-2913
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.60
MSRPwas $16.00

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.