:

product description page

Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream - Large Print (Hardcover)

Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream -  Large Print (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

"Her character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch Motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet ­Evanovich."?Library Journal"McPherson, who has earned acclaim for her dark thrillers and Dandy Gilver period cozies, blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters in this series starter. A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer."?Booklist"McPherson, a master of creepy psychological mysteries, shows an utterly different side of herself in this zany series kickoff."?Kirkus Reviews"Everyone who knows me knows that I don't throw the word 'hoot' around lightly. So if I were to say that Catriona McPherson's new novel was a hoot, believe me, I would mean it. Filled with an entertaining cast of eccentric characters, Scot Free is a funny and original mystery. Quite frankly, it's a hoot. There, I said it."?Johnny Shaw, author of Big Maria and Imperial Valley"Scot Free is a proper cuppa Scottish mystery served under harsh California sunshine?and everyone's a little crazy from the heat. Lexy and her Last Ditch friends are charming, weird, and laugh-out-loud funny. A real treat."?Lori Rader-Day, Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author of Little Pretty ThingsLexy Campbell fell in love and left her native Scotland for a golden life in California?hitched to a hunk, building her marriage counseling practice, living the dream. Six months later she's divorced, broke, and headed home. There's just one last thing. Lexy's only client?sweet little old Mrs. Bombarro?is in jail for murdering her husband with a fireworks rocket. Lexy knows the cops have got it wrong; all she needs is a few days to prove it and somewhere cheap to sleep at night. But checking into the Last Ditch Motel leads Lexy to a whole new cast of characters with troubles of their own.
Edition: Large Print
Number of Pages: 438
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Series Title: Thorndike Press Large Print Mystery Series
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Thorndike Pr
Author: Catriona McPherson
Language: English
Street Date: June 27, 2018
TCIN: 53631770
UPC: 9781432851705
Item Number (DPCI): 248-11-2738
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$28.49
MSRPReg: $30.99 Save $2.50 (8% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.