Loading, please wait...

Secondhand Dogs - by Carolyn Crimi (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 256

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Animals

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: Dogs

Author: Carolyn Crimi

Language: English

Street Date: July 6, 2021
TCIN: 81775440
UPC: 9780062989185
Item Number (DPCI): 247-18-7604
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



When a new dog named Decker arrives in Miss Lottie's home and convinces Moon Pie to embark on an impossible journey, Gus, the insecure pack leader, must gather his courage to bring Moon Pie home.



Book Synopsis



A heartwarming--and heart-tugging--middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what it means to be part of a family--from author Carolyn Crimi, with adorable illustrations by Melissa Manwill. Perfect for fans of A Dog's Life and Because of Winn-Dixie.

Miss Lottie's home was for second chances.

When she adopted Gus, Roo, Tank, and Moon Pie, Miss Lottie rescued each member of the pack--including herself, her helper, Quinn, and her reclusive cat, Ghost--and turned them into a family. But when a new dog, Decker, arrives and tries to hoard Miss Lottie's heart and home for himself, the pack's future is threatened.

At first, Gus, the insecure pack leader, only notices little things, like tiny Moon Pie being kicked out of the bed and Ghost acting spooked (then again...Ghost is a cat). But things soon go from bad to worse as Decker's presence causes disharmony in the group.

When Decker convinces Moon Pie to embark on an impossible journey, it's up to Gus to gather his courage, rally his splintered pack, and bring the little dog home. And with coyotes and cars on the loose, the pack must push through obstacles and dangers to reunite with Moon Pie before he can get hurt--or, nearly as bad, get his heart broken.



Review Quotes




Pervading themes of bullying, leadership, loyalty, and family--among humans and canines alike--raise important issues while the comic-style illustrations feature character cameos and highlight key scenes. A sensitive, satisfying, and intriguing canine tale --Kirkus Reviews
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.73 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.