Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Self-immolation of Oskar Bruesewitz Compared to Other Suicides Committed As a Political Protest - New

Self-immolation of Oskar Bruesewitz Compared to Other Suicides Committed As a Political Protest - New - image 1 of 1

About this item

This book studies the phenomenon of altruistic suicide which was a form of political protest. The authors investigate the self-immolation of German pastor Oskar Brüsewitz and compare it with other politically motivated suicides. They portray both life and pastoral activity of Brüsewitz and analyse the motives of his suicide. Furthermore, they evaluate the judgement of this tragic event by confreres in faith and other witnesses. Besides the thorough analysis of Oskar Brüsewitz’s case, the book inspects the genesis of self-immolation and locates it in the tradition of Buddhism and Hinduism. It depicts cases of self-immolations in Vietnam, the USA, India, Tibet, China, Iran, and particularly in Middle-Eastern Europe (Czechoslovakia, Poland and Lithuania). The analysis also covers cases of self-immolations that occurred during the Arab Spring (2011–2012) and in Bulgaria in 2013.

Edition: New
Number of Pages: 150
Genre: Music, Philosophy
Sub-Genre: Suicide
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Peter Lang Pub Inc
Author: Adam Czabanski & Malgorzata Czabanska-rosada
Language: English
Street Date: January 31, 2018
TCIN: 53651398
UPC: 9783631674215
Item Number (DPCI): 248-42-7553
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$44.95
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.