Loading, please wait...

Sensational - (Spectacle, 2) by Jodie Lynn Zdrok (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Historical

Series Title: Spectacle, 2

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Tor Teen

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Europe

Author: Jodie Lynn Zdrok

Language: English

TCIN: 80132304
UPC: 9780765399724
Item Number (DPCI): 247-46-4004

Description

Readers will enjoy exploring fin de si�cle Paris with Nathalie and her spirited friends while they attempt to suss out a vicious killer. An entertaining duology closer.--Kirkus Reviews on Sensational

PRAISE FOR SPECTACLE

Clever and full of murder, Jodie Lynn Zdrok's Spectacle had my eyes glued to the pages as the body count rose, and mystery stacked upon mystery as our heroine closed in on a killer who seemed miles ahead of the Parisian authorities. Fans of serial killers and criminal investigations will find much to love, and fascinating passages about morgue tours will appeal to the morbid rubbernecker in us all.--Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

"With a fierce heroine, grisly 19th-century murders, and a mystery that left me on the edge of my seat, Spectacle is an immersive, Parisian, YA From Hell that I absolutely devoured!--Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and #MurderTrending

Zdrok explores the universal fascination with death, set among the darker corners of 1887 Paris, and the very idea of the morgue viewings (to which parents brought their children) is chilling...Grisly, plot driven--and very creepy. Fans of historical thrillers that invoke the enduring spirit of Jack the Ripper will have fun.--Kirkus Reviews

"Hints of the murderer's identity are subtly and intriguingly folded into the story, and unresolved plot threads pave the way for future cases, during which Nathalie can discover more about her powers. The blend of history, mystery, and fantasy makes this debut novel a good pick for fans of Libba Bray's Diviners series or William Ritter's Jackaby books."--Booklist

"The book seamlessly brings several threads together: the mystery of the murder and the horrors of the killings themselves; the beauty, bustle, and darkness of nineteenth-century Paris (the killer's pursuit of Nathalie through the catacombs is thrillingly described); the bizarre but historically based practices of morgue viewing and blood transfusions for magic; and the destructive nature of family secrets and their generational effects. ...the tension amps up to a gasp-worthy climax."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Zdrok has concocted an ambitious Victorian-era story. ...Intricately plotted, the story's pace burns slow before racing ahead to set up and topple assumptions about the true identity of the Dark Artist."--School Library Journal

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.