Serena Rug - Safavieh - image 1 of 4Serena Rug - Safavieh - image 2 of 4Serena Rug - Safavieh - image 3 of 4Serena Rug - Safavieh - image 4 of 4
Serena Rug - Safavieh - image 1 of 4
$91.99When purchased online

About this item

At a glance

Hand Made
Hand Made

Highlights

  • Crafted from high quality 100% jute fibers
  • Hand made, hand woven construction
  • Soft, flat pile type
  • Weave rug style

Specifications

Features: Rectangle (shape)

Dimensions (Overall): 96 Inches (L), 30 Inches (W)

Fabric Name: Woven

Style: Runners

Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor

Construction Technique: Hand Made

Features: Natural Fiber

Backing Material: 100% No Backing

Rug Material: 100% Jute

Protective Qualities: Not Applicable

Pile type: Flat Pile

Rug pile height: Flat Pile

Care & Cleaning: Rug Pad Recommended

Warranty: No Applicable Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 50823304
UPC: 683726432234
Item Number (DPCI): 066-00-4885
Origin: Imported

Description

The Serena Rug Collection features an extensive selection of jute rugs, sisal rugs and other eco-friendly rugs made from innately soft and durable natural fiber yarns. Subtle and organic patterns are created by a dense sisal weave and accentuated in engaging colors and craft inspired textures. These lovely rugs bring a warm relaxing vibe and are great for transitional homes with a beachy and coastal decor. Many designs made with non-slip or cotton backing for cushioned support.
Hand Made
Constructed using a hand made technique.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 30 inches length x 8 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 15 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Is the backing natural rubber latex or is synthetic latex?

submitted by Cat - 6 years ago
  • A: There is no backing, it is natural fiber on both sides. I like it, because it is basically reversible.

    submitted byAmy - 6 years ago
  • A: no backing. Almost reversible. The under side is a little flatter. The top side shows more texture.

    submitted byMarie - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello, There is not backing for this rug. Thank you,

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used in a bathroom?

submitted by Lindsay - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi! The Serena rug is not recommend to be used in a bathroom, or wet environment. If you're looking for bathroom rugs, you can search Safavieh bathroom mats or Safavieh outdoor rugs! If you have any other questions, please contact our team at https://safavieh.com/contact. Thank you for your question!

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hello Lindsay, Good question! If you will use it in the bathroom it will be moldy, mildewed or fall apart. Thanks, Homesquare

    submitted byHome Square - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: So, if this has no backing, would I need to get some type of rug gripper? I wouldn't want to trip on it.

submitted by Judy Kelly - 3 years ago
  • A: I'm a Senior and I followed AARP's advice and had my present rug stapled to my wood floor all around its edges. This was after tripping on it twice. I had put a rug pad under it to help it stay put which made it slip-proof but not trip-proof.

    submitted byClaudette - 1 year ago
  • A: Hello Judy, We suggest the use a rug pad underneath the rug, should you worry about tripping or slipping. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the rug have dust and dirt within the fibers? I've had jute rugs that seem to never stop shedding dirt.

submitted by Maui - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello, We would recommend flipping the rug over, if possible, and vacumming the bottom of the rug. This will help get rid of the dust that sheds from the rug. Thank you,

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Yes. A lot of dirt. But that is normal

    submitted bySandy - 5 years ago

Q: Is there an odor with this rug? A strong grass-like odor or another? My kiddos are very sensitive to smell. Thank you!

submitted by girlmama - 5 years ago
  • A: No odor. Nice rug. I have to return it because it is too thick for my front door to open. But no odor.

    submitted byMarie - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello, There should not be an odor with the rug. Thank you,

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: is the thickness less than 1/4"? I need a thin enough rug that my door can swing open without catching on it.

submitted by Reynolds - 5 years ago
  • A: I purchased this for just inside my main entry door. The door won't open over the thickness of the rug, so I am returning. Otherwise, I really liked the rug. I need something thinner. I would guess it is about 0.4 to 0.5" thick.

    submitted byMarie - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi there, this has a pile height of about 0.4".

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the difference between the Safavieh Maricela and Serena carpet that is sold on the Target website?

submitted by Dixie - 7 months ago
  • A: Thank you for your question. The main differences between the Maricela and Serena are the construction and weave. The Maricela (NF747A) is hand loomed while the Serena (NF447A) is power loomed. The knots more present on the Serena.

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 7 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: If the rust colored rug get wet will the color in it stain my floor?

submitted by Rebecca - 1 year ago
  • A: We recommend professionally cleaning for all our rugs. Also, please use a rug pad underneath to prevent slipping and sliding. Please view our rug pads to help find one that’s suitable for your flooring - https://safavieh.com/rugs/padding.

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: How delicate is this rug? I am looking for a rug for my cats to be able to scratch and play on. Will this shred too easily?

submitted by Isla - 1 year ago
  • A: The Serena rug is delicate, hand woven and is not best suited for animals. Constant scratching of this rug will often lead to loose fibers or cause significant damage. We do not recommend this rug in high traffic areas or an outdoor environment. We recommend a cotton, wool or synthetic fiber rug with a cut pile for anyone with cats. We hope that this is helpful!

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can to use a regular vacuum to clean this or do you need beater bars off? If so, will not having beaters brushes clean it well enough?

submitted by VLCW731 - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello, We recommend not engaging the beater bars. You will be able to get the same type of clean as you would with the beater bars, but it is a more gentle way of doing so. Thank you,

    submitted bySAFAVIEH Product Expert - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
3.9 out of 5 stars with 212 reviews
73% would recommend
128 recommendations
design: 4.31 out of 5
value: 3.56 out of 5
easy to clean: 3.06 out of 5
quality: 3.83 out of 5

Collects dirt! Hard to clean..

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Carli517 - 3 months ago
I had this in my bedroom. Wasn't as soft as I would have liked but I guess that was to be expected! What I noticed was that even though my bedroom was regularly vacuumed and not a highly trafficked area, this rug collected so much dirt and was very hard to clean! We moved and even though I'd only had the rug about 6 ish months, I didn't even want it in the new house because it was filled with dirt!
design: 4 out of 5
easy to clean: 2 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Rug came full of dirt

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Katie - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
This rug arrived full of dirt, I don’t even know how to describe it.. like literally full of dirt, half dirt half rug. I vacuumed it like crazy, tried to beat the dirt off outside over and over and nothing got the dirt out. It also smelled so bad that we finally tried submerging the rug to clean it and the color changed completely.
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 3 months ago
We’re sorry that your new rug arrived dirty. We appreciate that you listed the issues and notified us of your concerns. This is not a typical issue for Safavieh rugs. Please contact Target Customer Service for a return and refund of your product. We're sorry about your dissatisfaction, and your feedback has been addressed with our Team. Please feel free to contact Safavieh Client Service Team if you have any questions - https://safavieh.com/contact. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
design: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

not for barefoot

3 out of 5 stars
mshywing - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
The color and texture of this rug look good but there are too many hard woody fiber in it. if you walk on it bare foot, it hurts a lot. I had to remove the woody fibers to make it bearable to walk on it. If you are looking for soft and cozy rug for bare foot, I would not recommend this rug. if you wear shoes at home, this rug is good for small area, not wide enough for front door entry.
design: 4 out of 5
easy to clean: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Natural jute rug

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Ann - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
Overall standard natural jute rug the weave is much looser than expected for “right side up” compared to what’s visible on photos it’s like a foot massage. However they did nice job with the edges so if you wanted to you could flip over and use the other side it’s a tighter weave and that “standard traditional design”. Quality I would say won’t last long prob would be good semi outdoor or open living space rug, it’s loose so without a rubber mat stay under it’ll shift and elongate. Overall ok purchase hope it lasts long for quality. Would totally recommend.
easy to clean: 3 out of 5
design: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Uncomfortable!

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Melody - 6 months ago
While the looks of the rug was as expected, I did not expected the raised ridges to be so uncomfortable? Maybe acceptable outdoors with shoes on, but under bare feet it was awful! returning
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
JC - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Love the look! It looks perfect in my kitchen!
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 9 months ago
We are delighted to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will consider the Safavieh brand in the future!
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Neutral rug

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
LH4g - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Beautiful and sturdy! Perfect for high traffic areas
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 11 months ago
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We would love it if you would express your style with us on our website, just submit a photo of your new product, link provided https://safavieh.com/express-your-style . We thank you for your business and hope you will consider the Safavieh brand in your future home decor purchases!
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Natural and neutral- so pretty!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Anna - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Super cute rug! Good price, too. It’s pretty thick and seems durable, so I’m really happy with it! Some people are complaining about the smell, but the package literally includes a cute little note saying it’ll go away within a few days or so and to basically just be patient, haha. It’s just the natural fibers and from being packed and shipped. Also natural jute rugs tend to have little imperfections. You may get small pieces that kind of come out after awhile. Just stuff ‘em back in. It’s normal and to be expected with the material. We have a few jute rugs and they will never be 100% perfect. The rug adds a nice and natural touch to our home! We put it in our kitchen and it looks great with our white cabinets, it adds some warmth. It has a variety of pretty and subtle, but different colors. We’ve gotten many compliments on it!
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 11 months ago
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We would love it if you would express your style with us on our website, just submit a photo of your new product, link provided https://safavieh.com/express-your-style . We thank you for your business and hope you will consider the Safavieh brand in your future home decor purchases!
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Sheds, uncomfy, and doors cant open over it

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Ash - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
It’s pretty in theory… but it sheds a lot. And it’s lumpy and not comfortable on the feet. Also if you want to use it as a doormat it’s too thick for a door to open over. Returned.
design: 3 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Beautiful!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Bonlu - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Perfect! Softer than I expected. No oder or shedding. Love the natural look. I highly recommend. There is nothing I dislike about this rug. (I purchased color: natural 2.6’ X 8’)
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We would love it if you would express your style with us on our website, just submit a photo of your new rug, link provided https://safavieh.com/express-your-style . We thank you for your business and hope you will consider the Safavieh brand in your future home decor purchases!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Poor Quality Rug

1 out of 5 stars
Dperez69 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This rug is bulky, it smells terrible, the edges are already loosening 2 weeks after purchase certain spots look ratty and there is dust coming from the rug.
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Hello Dperez69, Thank you for your review and we’re sorry that your new rug arrived with a strong odor, unraveling and dust coming from the rug. This odor, unraveling and dust as you described is not typical when receiving a Safavieh rug. If this was just received within the return window, please contact Target Customer Service for a return and refund of your product. We're sorry about your dissatisfaction, and your feedback regarding these issues has been addressed with our Quality Assurance Team. We take cases like this seriously, and we'll issue the proper inspections including those with our couriers. Please feel free to contact Safavieh Client Service Team if you have any questions - https://safavieh.com/contact. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
design: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Returned the next day

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
A - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This rug was smelly, and SUPER ROUGH/abrasive. I don’t know anyone would want this in their home. It also released a lot of lint and small fibers - do not recommend!
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you're unhappy with your new rug. We appreciate that you listed the issues and notified us of your concerns. Your feedback has been addressed with our Quality Assurance Team. Please view our guide on how to reduce odors: https://safavieh.com/rug-care-and-cleaning. If you have any questions, please contact our Client Service Team, link provided https://safavieh.com/contact. We appreciate your feedback.
quality: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
design: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Thumbs down

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Jessica - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
The rug is beautiful, however, it sheds and smells terrible! Isn’t woven very well - pieces stick up that are frayed. Customer service wasn’t much help. 
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you're dissatisfied with your new rug. We appreciate that you listed the issues and notified us of your concerns. We're sorry about your dissatisfaction, and your feedback has been addressed with our Quality Assurance Team. Please view our guide on how to reduce odors: https://safavieh.com/rug-care-and-cleaning. If you have any questions, please contact our Client Service Team, link provided https://safavieh.com/contact. We appreciate your feedback.
design: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Carpet

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Grandmawgrandkids - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I love it. Was a little small but I made it work I want another one. It thick and perfect for my 6 grandkids to eat on and play. It hides spills
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Hi! Thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will consider the Safavieh brand in the future!
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Worst toxic smell - really

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Raleigh Girl - 2 years ago
Never smelled anything so toxic and disgusting in my life. So sad they are even allowed to sell stuff this unhealthy!!
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 2 years ago
We’re sorry that your Serena arrived with a strong odor. We appreciate that you listed the issues and notified us on your concerns. This odor as you described is not typical when receiving a Safavieh rug. If this was just received within the return window, please contact Target Customer Service for a return and refund of your product. We're sorry about your dissatisfaction, and your feedback has been addressed with our Team. Please feel free to contact Safavieh Client Service Team if you have any questions - https://safavieh.com/contact. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Serena natural fiber rug is great

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
BalletEm - 2 years ago
The rug is chunky and the colors are quite varied. I like the natural look of it. I haven’t noticed a problem with shedding. The rug is on top of carpet so perhaps that’s keeping any sheds contained. I run my cordless vacuum over it and it cleans up well. Sometimes the vacuum lifts up frayed ends where pieces connect. I tuck them back in and they’re fine. I just got a second rug to layer over it and am loving the look. The texture of the rug is really big, varied. I like it but it’s definitely interesting to walk on. It feels like a foot massage. Anyway, it’s a great rug and makes a statement! Love the earthy element it adds to the room.
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 1 year ago
Hi! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We make every effort to ensure that the quality of our product reflects our high standards. We thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will consider the Safavieh brand in the future!
design: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

not worth it

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
sophie - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This rug sheds and releases dust. I got it as an entry way rug for my apartment to help catch some of the debris we bring in and it ended up making a bigger mess. I already took the tags off so I just got rid of it.
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 2 years ago
Hi! We appreciate the feedback, the Natural Fiber rug does not have a backing to collect the dirt and debris, so we highly recommend using a rug pad to collect the daily dirt and debris that accumulates. To reduce excessive shedding, vacuum your rug 1-2 times per week in the direction of the pile. Please review our guide on shedding - https://safavieh.com/rug-care-and-cleaning . If you're not completely satisfied, please contact Target Customer Service for a return and refund of your product. If you'd like to choose a different rug, we'd recommend to browse our polypropylene or cotton collections. For assistance please contact our team - https://safavieh.com/contact . Thank you for your review!
quality: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
design: 3 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great rug!

5 out of 5 stars
Brittney - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this for my kitchen area. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I didn’t notice any smell after unwrapping the packaging. The rug does shed a little, as was expected. It does not slide on my floor so I did not have to purchase a non-skid pad to go underneath. Great purchase.
1 reply from SAFAVIEH Product Expert team - 2 years ago
Hi! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your purchase. We thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will consider the Safavieh brand in the future!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Skip this rug

1 out of 5 stars
CK5282 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This rug smells like vinegar and is not soft and ugly looking. I purchased a similar rug like this from Target and it smells so strong like mildew, so I am wondering if the same thing happened with this one and they just drenched the thing in vinegar... disgusting. Do not purchase.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Piece of crap

1 out of 5 stars
jessicak - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Looks nothing like the picture. The pile is so high and uncomfortable to walk on and it’s all tangled and matted with an inconsistent pattern.
design: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads