Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Smell of Other People's Houses (Reprint) (Paperback) (Bonnie-sue Hitchcock)

Smell of Other People's Houses (Reprint) (Paperback) (Bonnie-sue Hitchcock) - image 1 of 1

About this item

“Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here “[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent. Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger. Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.  Praise: William C. Morris FinalistShortlisted for the Carnegie MedalAmelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult FictionTayshas Reading List—Top 10 ListNew York Public Library’s Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best ListShelf Awareness, Best Children’s & Teen Books of the YearNominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award“Hitchcock’s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study—a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.” —John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior “As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.” —Bustle.com

Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 230
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Bonnie-sue Hitchcock
Language: English
Street Date: February 21, 2017
TCIN: 51756324
UPC: 9780553497816
Item Number (DPCI): 248-31-8237
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$9.99
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.