:

product description page

Soul of the World - (The Ascension Cycle) by David Mealing (Paperback)

Soul of the World -  (The Ascension Cycle) by David Mealing (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

about this item

When a young street artist's secret magic is discovered, she finds herself thrust into a revolution that may change not just the city, but the world in the first book of this debut epic fantasy trilogy.
The great barrier has kept the colonies of the new world safe from the beasts of the forest for hundreds of years. In the shadow of the barrier, the city of New Sarresant has grown from tiny colony to great city. But the city is a powder keg. Food shortages stir the citizens to riots against the crown. Dissidents speak openly of revolution. And worse, the strength of the great barrier seems to be slipping.Sarine is a street artist, selling her sketches for coin to help feed her family. With the help of her powers, and her miniature dragon companion Zi, she's so far been able to escape the notice of both the foolish nobles she loves to draw and the city police. But a strange man with powers more terrifying than her own threatens to expose her secrets.And she's not the only one whose life threatens to be upended by the strange figure.
Start reading this vibrant and imaginative addition to the epic fantasy canon for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Brent Weeks, and Brian McClellan.
Number of Pages: 645
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Magic
Series Title: The Ascension Cycle
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Little Brown & Co
Author: David Mealing
Language: English
Street Date: June 27, 2017
TCIN: 51892697
UPC: 9780316552332
Item Number (DPCI): 248-36-7342
$10.87
MSRPReg: $15.99 Save $5.12 (32% off)

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.