Loading, please wait...

Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers) - by Mike Massimino

Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers) - by Mike Massimino - image 1 of 1
Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers) - by Mike Massimino - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 288

Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Sub-Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Book theme: Science & Technology

Author: Mike Massimino

Language: English

Street Date: April 7, 2020
TCIN: 79380991
UPC: 9780593120866
Item Number (DPCI): 247-33-7862
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"The story of Mike Massimino's life growing up in a working-class family and his determination to get the education and experience that would lead to his challenging but successful rise to become a NASA astronaut"--



Book Synopsis



An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe. Fans of The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 will be thrilled by this astronaut's real life adventure.

From the time he was seven-years-old and saw Apollo 11 land on the moon, Mike Massimino dreamed of becoming an astronaut. Long Island is a long way from space. Kids like him, growing up in working-class families, seldom left the neighborhood. But with the encouragement of teachers and mentors, Mike ventured down on a path that took him to Columbia University and to MIT. It wasn't easy. There were academic setbacks and disappointments aplenty--and NASA turned him down three times. Still, Mike never gave up. He rose to each challenge and forged ahead, inching closer to realizing his boyhood dream. His love of science and space, along with his indomitable spirit and sense of teamwork eventually got him assigned to two missions to fix the Hubble Space Telescope--as a spacewalker.

Spaceman takes readers on Mike's unlikely ride from Earth to space, showing the breathtaking wonder of science and technology along the way.

Mike Massimino is a spaceman through and through. In this edition for young people, he tells us how hard work can take you out of this world. He believes in teamwork, and he never gives up. Prepare to be inspired. --BILL NYE, SCIENCE GUY and CEO, THE PLANETARY SOCIETY



Review Quotes




Mike Massimino is a spaceman through and through. In this edition for young people, he tells us how hard work can take you out of this world. He believes in teamwork, and he never gives up. Prepare to be inspired. --BILL NYE, Science Guy and CEO, The Planetary Society

A grand, inspiring, sometimes hilarious ride. -Kirkus Reviews

From his childhood days peering up at the sky to his struggles to find his life's calling, Massimino's story will inspire many kids. -School Library Journal

An inspirational guide for young people on their own life journeys." -Booklist



About the Author



MIKE MASSIMINO served as a NASA astronaut from 1996 to 2014. A veteran of two space flights to the Hubble Space Telescope, Mike and his crews set team records for spacewalking time, and he became the first person to tweet from space. He has played himself on the CBS sitcom The Big Bang Theory, was featured in the IMAX film Hubble 3D, and has appeared frequently in television documentaries and on late-night talk shows and news programs. A graduate of Columbia University and MIT, Mike lives in New York City, where he is a professor at Columbia and an advisor at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum. Visit him online at MikeMassimino.com and follow @Astro_Mike on Twitter and @astromikemassimino on Instagram.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.1 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.