Loading, please wait...

Speak Easy, Speak Love - by McKelle George (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 432

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Romance

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Romantic Comedy

Author: McKelle George

Language: English

Street Date: September 19, 2017
TCIN: 52218603
UPC: 9780062560926
Item Number (DPCI): 248-43-7051
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Six teenagers' lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement--one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George's debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended



From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.