Loading, please wait...

Splintered - (Spliced) by Jon McGoran (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 352

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Dystopian

Series Title: Spliced

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Holiday House

Age Range: Teen

Author: Jon McGoran

Language: English

Street Date: May 14, 2019
TCIN: 76344022
UPC: 9780823440900
Item Number (DPCI): 248-62-7285
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Seventeen-year-old Jimi Corcoran continues her fight for survival and equality in a near-future world where teenagers have animal DNA spliced into their own"--



Book Synopsis



In the second installment of the SPLICED series, sixteen-year-old Jimi Corcoran risks her life to clear a friend's name--and uncovers the horrific truth about one of the most powerful men in the world.

All Jimi wants is pick up the pieces of her life and move on. She never intended to uncover a conspiracy, or become a hero for chimera rights-- she just wanted to protect her best friend, Del. But now she's a public figure, and she can't quite shake the spotlight. . . or her suspicion that she's being followed.

Still, when a strange chimera shows up, half-dead with nothing but an odd hospital bracelet to identify him, of course Jimi tries to help. But everything goes wrong-- and her friend Dr. Guzman is arrested for murder. Desperate to prove his innocence, Jimi does some digging, and discovers that the sick chimera came from a hospital owned by Howard Wells. . . . The businessman who pioneered the Genetic Heritage Act, which sought to label all chimeras as inhuman, and undeserving of basic rights. Has he really had a change of heart?

Teaming up with her chimera friends Rex and Claudia, Jimi sets out to investigate Wells' hospital-- but discovers the seemingly-charitable endeavor is hiding an extensive, dark secret. To save lives and shut down a criminal operation, Jimi and her friends will have to risk everything-- and incur the wrath of Howard Wells himself.

Action-packed and haunting, this sequel to Spliced digs deeper into a gritty, near-future world in which lawless science is a rich man's game-- and Jimi and her friends are unwilling players.

This beautiful hardcover edition features a texturally embossed, spot-gloss jacket.



Review Quotes




McGoran adds further ethical complications to the crucial political battle for chimera rights, exploring, for example, the uneasy line between acts of resistance and of terrorism. . . . It's definitely exciting--Booklist

Dystopian fans have a lot to enjoy in this loosely allegorical novel. The pacing is lightning fast . . . the author explores themes of prejudice and rebellion in a relatable way.--VOYA


In this follow-up to his YA debut, Spliced, McGoran finds his rhythm in an exciting, futuristic thriller. . . . this book is full of enough action-packed thrills and suspense . . . A sci-fi page-turner for readers who enjoy Cinder and Divergent.--School Library Journal






About the Author



Jon McGoran has written several books for adults, including the D.H. Dublin series and the eco-thrillers Drift and Deadout, which Publishers Weekly called outstanding in a starred review. Jon McGoran is also a founding member of The Liars Club, a blog for and by writers. The Spliced series is his first young adult project. He lives in Pennsylvania with his family.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Mon, May 17 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.