Loading, please wait...

product description page

Summer Evening - (Four Seasons of Walter De La Mare) by Walter De LA Mare (Hardcover)

Summer Evening -  (Four Seasons of Walter De La Mare) by Walter De LA Mare (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

"As a revelation of the wonders of the English language, de la Mare's poems for children are quite unrivaled." - W. H. Auden

Part of a quintet of books revolved around the four seasons, this is a beautifully atmospheric picture book based around de la Mare's eight line poem. In Summer Evening, readers will join a farmer and his family as they enjoy a picnic dinner in the late summer sun. Their pet cat spots a mouse in the field and a chase pursues that includes a dog, a horse, cows, pigs, chickens, and ducks! The sparse text and bright colors give children much to look at and expore, and they will love identifying the different animals in each spread. It concludes with all the animals going to sleep, so also a great bedtime read.

With striking orange and yellow tones throughout, this conjures up perfectly the feeling of a balmy late summer evening.
Number of Pages: 32
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Classics, Science & Nature, Animals
Series Title: Four Seasons of Walter De La Mare
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Pgw
Age Range: 4-8 years
Book theme: Environment, Farm Animals
Author: Walter De LA Mare
Language: English
Street Date: June 12, 2018
TCIN: 53323829
UPC: 9780571314669
Item Number (DPCI): 248-11-7022
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
MSRPReg: $15.95 Save $4.79 (30% off)
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.

*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.